vegan eggplant pesto (presto, chango)

If you think I’m bad with going off on tangents when I write – you should see me in the kitchen.  I begin with a recipe to try, or an idea of a certain dish that I would like to prepare.  I always end up getting distracted by some new ingredient or stroke of genius (yeah, right)  half way through.  The resulting dish is about as far away from the original idea as you can get without being arrested (that makes no sense whatsoever, similar to my style of cooking).

It all started with a few skinny eggplants I bought for some reason.  I don’t know what I was thinking of doing with them, but they were pretty and purple so I bought them.  Fast forward to lunch today, and I knew I had to use these beautiful, albeit annoying fridge dwellers.  I chucked them in a hot oven, not really thinking it through, and this happened:

It seriously exploded in there.  It looks kind of like a squid trying to escape.  I find the insides of eggplants quite unnerving.

Due to the slightly creepy appearance of the insides, I decided to blend them up, thus banishing all thoughts of giant squid tendrils flapping around in my belly. Doing what I do best, I proceeded to scrape out the fridge and dump it into my blender along with the eggplant.  I found some abandoned roast pepper strips (thanks Viper) a little plastic bag of herbs my girlfriend stole for me from another friends garden, some garlic and sad looking lemon wedges.  A few dashes of seasoning, and a new delight was born.  It’s kind of in between hummus, baba ganoush  and pesto – really it just reminded me of a pesto because of the basil.

Vegan Eggplant Pesto

(Vegan, gluten free, nut free, soy free)

  • 1C roasted eggplant
  • 1/2 roasted red pepper
  • 1t lemon juice
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 1/2T nutritional yeast
  • 1/4t balsamic vinegar
  • Big handful of fresh basil leaves
  • A few sprigs of fresh sage
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
Speaking of tangents…
I think this egg either has some type of vegan message, or is telling you guys to go check out some awesome food funnies at Fork and Beans – Cara’s  healthy food creativity is just hilariously good.  I was peeling Misty’s egg for lunch, and it came out looking like this – sans eyes of course – and just thought of her.
Poor eggy.
About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

4 responses to “vegan eggplant pesto (presto, chango)”

  1. Emmy (Wine and Butter) says :

    Shall I stop reading your blog until I have my food processoer working again!?! 🙂

  2. Lou says :

    Nooooooo! I will have to make an Em friendly recipe 🙂 Not processing involved xx

  3. Cara says :

    Poor egg??? No way!! HAPPY egg! Finally, you provided its actual shape 🙂 LOVE THIS!!!

Leave a Reply

