a Misty makeover meal

I never liked rice pudding.  I think mainly because it’s such a heavy dessert to eat after a whole dinner.  Sits like a brick in your stomach.  The nutmeg always grossed me out as a kid, and I have never liked heavy dairy milk or cream.  Some people are crazy for it though, which I never understood – I guess it’s like my love of Vegemite on raisin toast, most people just don’t seem to get it.
What’s your take on the humble rice pudding?  Love it or leave it?
I had things to use up in my kitchen… annoying little amounts… half a jar of rice, a few spoonfuls of apple puree – they were really bugging me.  Taking up valuable real estate in my pantry and fridge.
Rice pudding for breakfast?  Totally – energy to start the day for both me and Misty (not that he needs any more energy).  I’m on the sugar-free wagon too, thanks to the encouragement from Alex.  This pudding totally makes for a good morning.
Good Morning Rice Pudding:
Makes enough for Mum, Dad and a couple of baby sized meals – or however you want to portion it out.
  • 3T apple puree (or pumpkin, mashed banana etc)
  • 1/2C rice (white or brown)
  • 1 3/4C milk (I used full fat coconut milk, but cow, soy, almond etc are all good substitutes)
  • 1/4C chopped dried fruit (or date puree gives it a lovely caramel flavour)
  • 3/4t ground cinnamon or mixed spice (Pumpkin Pie spice)
  • 2t tahini
  • 1/2t pure vanilla extract
  • Pinch of sea salt
Feel free to add a touch of sweetness if you like – I would recommend 2T (or more) of honey/agave/raw sugar – I’m refraining as I’m doing the Sugar-Free Challanege, and Misty doesn’t need any more sweetness than what the fruit provides.  Mean Mama.
  1. Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan.
  2. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a gentle simmer.
  3. Keep and eye on it, and stir every few minutes to prevent sticking.
  4. Wait until most of the liquid has been absorbed, turn of heat and place a lid on the saucepan.  Let the rice soak up the rest of the liquid.  (Puree in the food processor for under 8 month olds).
  5. Eat warm, or pop in fridge to firm up to serve with Chia Seed Jam. Far too hot here for a warm breakfast… the pudding goes all solid-like so you can carrrrrve off chunks (spoken with a Scottish accent, naturally) yummo.
Blueberry Chia Jam, thank you once again, Lisa.  Genius.
This is Misty’s serving.  Obviously.  I mean what 11 month old doesn’t appreciate a fresh mint garnish or a moulded rice mound?  Yeah, Misty had a long morning nap… too much time on my hands.
Misty actually got spoon feed his, warm out of the pot. ‘Twas good.  A good morning for all – happy day to you.
Tags: , ,

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

23 responses to “a Misty makeover meal”

  1. Lisa ♥ Healthful Sense says :

    Oooh this looks good!! Isn’t it great when your kids love what you make for them?!!
    Thanks for sharing the jam recipe =)

  2. Lou says :

    your jam recipe is fantastic… such a great idea 🙂 It’s especially good when you make something healthy for your kids and they think it’s delicious 🙂 Makes me feel good that they are learning what REAL food is and how amazing it tastes!

  3. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says :

    Gorgeous photos Lou! The mint garnish is perfect…even if Misty doesn’t quite know how to appreciate the aesthetic side of food yet! 😉

    I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never actually had REAL rice pudding before…not really sure that Kozy Shack snack cups count? But you’re recipe sounds great! I’m not a fan of heavy sugary breakfasts so this recipe sounds perfect!

    • Lou says :

      As garnishes go, Misty quite enjoys a sprig of mint – crazy kid he eats anything green – leaves, grass, herbs etc, he’s likes to sample them all 🙂

      You’re not really missing out on not having tried the traditional rice pudding – I reckon it’s pretty gross – stodgy overly sugary rice – not my idea of a fun dessert anyhow! I think it originated back in the same time as the old bread pudding – when people were really active and needed heaps of carbs + were poor – bread+ rice= cheap and filling.

      Hope you’re feeling better 🙂

  4. Hannah says :

    Daet puree and spices sounds amazing! Pretty much the biggest cooking failure I’ve had (and blogged) was when I tried to make a “candy cane” rice pudding with peppermint essence, and it was the most disgusting, grainy, awful-tasting, grey-coloured horrendous inedible thing ever.

    So I like yours much better 😛

    • Lou says :

      hehehe, you make me giggle, candy cane ride pudding!!! hey, it was a creative idea, that’s something I suppose 😉 Yeah with date puree, vanilla and coconut milk it’s like a caramel dreeeeeam.

      Hey, did you guys ever get Cadbury’s ‘Caramilk” chocolate over here? That was the BEST ever, why did they take it away from me?? Why?

      • Hannah says :

        Not that I’ve ever known about! Funnily enough I just got sent a box of Cadbury chocolate to review on my blog, which is rather hilarious because I’ve pretty much always panned Cadbury on my blog 😛

      • Lou says :

        Yeah, Cadbury’s is pretty average BUT Caramilk was the most amazing thing… Viper doesn’t know what I’m talking about either, so it must not have made it to Oz…it was a mid-late 90s thing in NZ… like caramel flavoured white chocolate, seriously it was incredible. They made a Caramilk Creme Egg too, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree says :

    This looks delicious! My mom used to make me rice pudding all the time when my stomach was upset….Don’t I wish I was five again?

  6. lindsay says :

    this might be my one request, for you to make this for me. PLEASE?!

  7. Sara says :

    Love it, but .. I’m the only one. I made it once for a dessert and discovered that nobody else liked it. I mean.. what’s not to like? Sticky, sweet carbs.. mmmmmm.

    • Lou says :

      Yeah, it’s a weird one…I’m all for sticky sweet carbs, but just couldn’t get into the traditional rice pudding (bad childhood experience, I’m scarred) Much better as a breakfast 🙂

  8. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    WOW! Misty’s rice pudding portion looks amazing! 😛 I used to love rice pudding…I haven’t had a non-dairy one before, but when I was younger, my grandma and grandpa used to prepare the most amazing, sweet and creamy rice pudding, it was completely out of this world delicious…my abiding memory of their meals! Yours looks aewsome. ❤ xyx

  9. Lou says :

    Thanks lovely 🙂 Grandparent-cooking always brings back those delicious childhood memories. My grandma would cook everything in LARD… (ew now I think about it) she would put sugar, butter AND cream on oatmeal (she’s still alive too – heart disease? No way, nothing is slowing her down – still drinks sherry like a bandit too!) xx

    • Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

      Hahaha! So funny! 😀 It must be something in Kiwi grandparents’ genes…Tom’s grandmother is 97 and still so switched on – she cooks, cleans, hosts parties, dinners, is way more conversational and active than many twenty year olds I know, and is just incredible and inspiring. And I know for a fact she likes her red meat, chocolate, sherry, and butter. Everything in moderation though, she says. Amazing! ❤ xyx

  10. Brittany says :

    Ohh love that jam idea, I have a huge bag of chia seeds so I must make this asap. I can’t say I have ever tried rice pudding..I had tapioca pudding once as a child and it was horrendous. The texture was something I will never forget.

  11. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    Love rice pudding AND raisin toast with butter and vegemite. Also loved your egg in today’s post. Made me smile…but poor egg man.

    • Lou says :

      egg man met an unsightly end – by both Misty and Boosty. Tragic. I thought of you today at the supermarket – a potato chip comapny has brought out VEGEMITE flavoured chips!!!!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. dessert and dessert « fridge scrapings - November 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

