New News.

New things….

New discovery.

I was very excited to find coconut flour (New discovery #1) that doesn’t cost a million dollars.  I have been wanting to try it out for ages, but couldn’t justify spending $17 for 500g (!)  Apparently, my local health food store (read: my favourite store, visited by myself and Misty almost innappropriately frequently) has found a new supplier and has managed to get the price down.  Hooray.

My next New discovery was something of a happy accident (not that kind).  I always grind up my salt and flax seeds in the same pestle and mortar.  I don’t clean it in between.  Yes, I am very lazy BUT I discovered that the flax/salt combo is both delicious and nutritious when sprinkled over pretty much anything.  Get your Omega 3s while you are hardening your arteries – two birds with one stone baby.

This New recipe is a work in progress.  Sorry.  It’s almost there;  I was surprised how good it was first time off the bat, a few more tweaks and it’s yours.  I just like to take unattractive photos.

New obsession.

The New recipe incorporates my New obsession.  No, it’s not chocolate.  Not really – it does contain cacao but that’s where the similarities end.

New shoes.

Misty is walking everywhere these days.  I have to start putting shoes on him because I think people are looking at us and thinking, ‘huh, dirty hippies – look at that child’s feet – disgusting.’  These New shoes are pretty tough; not strictly “New,” (they were a gift)  but they only fit his grubby feet now.

Old is New again = New project.

Don’t you just love it when you find something you lost/forgot about?  It’s like having something New all over again.   Another happy accident (no, get your mind out of the gutter) was stumbling across this retro pattern as I packed up our book cupboard. Also because the pattern is literally OLD (can you tell? Complete with some little old nana’s sewing notes scribbled on it) and I am going to create something fresh and New based on a groovy classic.

 

New snack.  (From New recipe that is not quite right, but good enough for afternoon tea).

I love it how if you say any word over and over again it starts to sound really weird.  Then you start to think about words, and how a certain sound that we make with our mouth has a specific meaning.  Then I think that I think too much.

What’s new with you?

 

Tags:

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

15 responses to “New News.”

  1. Emmy (Wine and Butter) says :

    I’d love to know what you do with that coconut flour – Ive been seriously trying to work out if its worth spending £7K on a bag of it myself – looks really good but then you also have to add about a dozen eggs to any cupcake you want to make with it right!? new with me?! re-discovered love of sardines on crackers AND marinated artichoke hearts – SO GOOD! Congrats to Misty!!! xoxo

    • Lou says :

      dude, the coconut flour is rocking my world, I’m working on a recipe post right now 🙂 Misty is digging it too – no eggs involved! mmm sardines (i love them with cottage cheese, sounds weird but it is good I promise) oh yummo – artichokes are amazing, I haven’t had them in ages. xxxx

  2. lindsay says :

    i love my coconut flour! seriously, best stuff on earth. Can’t wait for the recipe. Oh and will you make me an outfit? hehe.

    • Lou says :

      I am totally loving the coconut flour – was so excited to find it (and being able to afford it!) Misty seems to like it too which is good. If I ever get away from my kitchen and onto the sewing machine, I will totally make you something 🙂 I just made Misty some new pants, blue+ green checkered (he looks like he’s off to play a round of golf! hehehe)

  3. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli says :

    Apparently, my local health food store has found a new supplier…um, just what kind of business are they running there?! 😉 I about squealed and jumped for joy in the middle of TJ Maxx when I found a bag of coconut flour…actually, wait, I think I did squeal and jump up and down…

    Hey, with the positive effects of the flax seed on cholesterol, mixing it with salt should produce a zero right? So you can use all you want! 😉

    Thank you for the kind words about my accident…not quite the happy kind, but unfortunately the newest thing in my life at the moment.

    • Lou says :

      boooo, so sad about your car. Hey – I drove THROUGH my garage once (as in, in the door and out the wall) so at least everyone doesn’t think you are the worlds worst driver as well as having a smashed up car. At least you can fix a car easily 🙂

  4. Brittany says :

    I love coconut flour! So tasty..and those shoes are bad ass! I wish they made them in my size. I am loving the weather YES!

    • Lou says :

      Yeah I wanted some in my size too dude – they look super comfy too. Flaming guitars are always a good look 🙂 I’m loving the weather too, hot hot hot and sunny, my fav!

  5. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Aah, I’d love to see what you create with your coconut flour – I have no idea what to do with it, although I do have some – that bar you’ve made loooks so tempting, even if it is a mystery, lol! 😛 Misty’s shoes = too cute. And I am totally down with the flax and sea salt combo – sounds delish! I eat lots of sea salt on my veggies…well, a nice sprinkle…I hope it;s not bad?! Hmmm…must research. What’s new with me? The new job, and pumpkin in my oats, lol! 😛 Have a beautiful one, my dear! ❤ xyx

    • Lou says :

      People always give salt a bad rap… I reckon it’s like anything – eat the GOOD stuff – by that I mean good quality sea salt that has trace minerals. I usually use Celtic or Himalayan which are both delicious (and Himalayan is pretty and pink!) I’ll hopefully get a post up with coconut flour recipe today.. it’s yummo I promise. Misty’s shoes are very bad ass – I’m jealous of them 🙂 xxxx

  6. Crafty Earth Mama says :

    Love that pattern! It’s so my style…if I had any style, but in my head I wear really cute stuff like that 🙂
    I have a few of my mothers Old patterns and have yet to do anything with them.
    I did an expiriment with coconut flour and it didn’t come out so hot. I have to keep trying to seee if I can come up with something decent.

    • Lou says :

      In my head I wear awesome stuff too (the reality is I live in stretchy yoga pants, an old singlet with food smears on it, and flip flops. sexy.) Just posted a yummy coconut flour recipe, it’s super quick and munchable, thanks for reading 🙂

  7. Jennifer says :

    New to your blog, really enjoying my time here.
    ‘Grubby feet…..’ brought back the memory of my girlie, bare foot, gardening with grandma all summer…. such a brilliant way to start my day! Thank you 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. dummy sucker dough, and some for yo mama « fridge scrapings - November 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

