baby green monster balls

Misty’s new favourite thing is biting.  Biting me.  He thinks it’s hilarious, and I don’t know how to stop him.  He also thinks me saying ‘No!’ is positively wee- your- nappy funny.  He has nibbled the railing of his cot, knawed the TV cabinet, and loves gnashing his teeth on my measuring spoons.  I suppose it’s just like having a puppy – our wooden outdoor furniture will never be the same after Boosty’s treatment of it.  Bite marks?  Try whole chunks of arm rests and chair legs GONE.

So I realise that this recipe would have been a great Hallo-weeny type dish, but since it’s not really celebrated here I’m not  bothered.  I have a little monster all of my own.  Let’s hope he will enjoy biting into these, rather than my shoulder or knee caps.  He’s seriously going to draw blood soon, it really hurts.  I figure if I combine cheese with anything, Misty will eat it, so I’ve snuck some chicken in too, to see if he’ll go for it this time.

Green Monster Balls:

1/2C cooked rice

1/2 large free range organic chicken breast

1/3C grated cheese

1T ground flax seeds

1/2C breadcrumbs

1/3C edamame (or peas)

1T milk

Freshly ground black pepper

A handful of greens (I used Indian spinach) chopped up finely (either by hand or just whizz in the food processor).

  1. Pulse chicken and breadcrumbs together in a food processor.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, and place in fridge for 15 minutes.
  3. Roll tablespoons full of mixture into balls.
  4. Bake at 180 degrees C for 10 minutes, roll balls over and bake for another 8-10 minutes or until golden brown.
They look frightening, but my little beastie gobbled ’em up.  He wasn’t scared.  The colours are amazing – straight from Mother Nature, why would you want to add fake colour to things?  Crazy crazy world we live in.
Has any one tried Indian spinach?  It’s the most beautiful plant… reminds me of Thai basil a little.  Purple and green leaves that taste in between English spinach and beetroot leaves.  A whopping bunch for $1.50 from the local Asian supermarket?  Thank you very much.
Tags: , ,

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

9 responses to “baby green monster balls”

  1. Brittany says :

    This spinach sounds so cool! I especially love the price! These green balls are creative!! As for the biting, I wish I had some advise to give you. Stay away from the biting kiddo!

  2. Lou says :

    he’s evil… he bites me then laughs in my face. I try so hard not to giggle when he does it (reinforcing the naughtiness) but he just looks so cute and demonic at the same time arrrrrrrgh. I;m just about to take him to playgroup, so he can bite somebody else he he heeee (evil mama)

    Spinach is very cool. Popeye’s fav 🙂

  3. Cara says :

    Your little monster is making me laugh as you describe his biting tendencies. I just love the idea of these green monster balls too! Sounds like an adult meal, easily done 🙂 P.S. I agree with you on the fake coloring–I just don’t understand it myself. P.P.S. Never seen Indian spinach but now I am going to look out for it! Thanks for the tip…

    • Lou says :

      All these little monster balls need is a touch of salt = total adult edible meal (my partner usually starts chowing down on Misty’s food, and then I get angry cos he eats it all!) Makes life easier when you don’t need to cook a bunch of separate meals, no? Indian spinach is yummo – and very pretty to boot 🙂 Thanks for reading – I LOVE your blog, your photos always make me smile (my partner was super impressed with your creations too. It takes a bit to impress that dude!)

      • Cara says :

        I think the highest compliment is when others cannot stop eating our food that was made for someone else 🙂 Says that you know what you are doing! And thank you for reading along with F&B. I am so happy to hear it makes you smile and I just love reading your comments as well… xoxo

  4. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Hahaha…bad misty, lol! 😛 So funny – your writing always makes me giggle, Lou. 🙂 Hmmm…I haven’t tried Indian Spinach before, but it sounds lovely! I adore leafy greens so I don’t doubt that I love it – now I must go about locating it, lol! 😉 Have a wonderful day, my friend! Big smiles ❤ xyx

    • Lou says :

      I find Vietnamese and Chinese grocers are an awesome source for leafy greens that you don’t find anywhere else… I always find crazy new varieties.

  5. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    PS: I totally agree that greens are pretty – I love love love rainbow chard – so stunning! 🙂 xyx

Leave a Reply

