no meat for Misty

Misty has gone off meat.  Every time I create him some delicious little meaty treat like these these or these, he boos them.   He does enjoy dropping them from his tray down to Boosty though.  Doesn’t seem to give two hoots about feeding premium organic, free range beef to a dog for Pete’s sake.  All he wants are peas.  He will pick up each pea individually, oh so carefully examine,  then place it  in his mouth.  Suppose I should be glad he is so taken by the humble pea.
I’m not concerned, it’s not like Misty is fading away or anything.  Quite the opposite – Viper describes him as ‘nuggety.’  He’s becoming aware of different tastes, textures and combinations – and works out what he wants and what he doesn’t.  I suppose it’s just like any of us going through a food ‘stage’ – getting obsessed with a certain ingredient or flavour, and wanting to eat that all of the time.  Like my sweet potato fixation.
Any current favourite eats at the moment? Dishes? Ingredients? Combinations?
Anything with cheese or peas will be gobbled down by MIsty – this next recipe is an attempt to broaden his horizons.
Cashew Carrot Curry Cakes:
  • 1/4C breadcrumbs (I used millet bread but any bread is fine)
  • 1/2C vegetable puree (something starchy works best, I used carrot and sweet potato)
  • 1/4C pureed corn kernels
  • 3T brown rice flour
  • 1/4t curry powder
  • 1/8t aluminium free baking powder
  • 1/8C sesame seeds
  • 1/8C raw cashews
  • 1 egg (or 1 flax “egg”)
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2t fresh or dried herbs (I used fresh chives and mint)
  1. Combine all ingredients in a medium sized bowl.
  2. Heat a fry pan with a little oil or butter.
  3. Drop teaspoons full of batter in, and cook for 2 minutes each side or until golden brown.
  4. Serve with a dollop of yoghurt, sour cream or mashed avacado.
Viper said that all they needed was a pinch of salt and they were adult-worthy.  High praise, high praise indeed.
Misty would like to say a big HAPPY BIRTHDAY to a certain HEABlet who is turning 1 year old today… he happens to have a little bit of an internet crush on her, and heard she was having a special Eric Carle birthday party.  He has cracked out his caterpillar in her honour.
He seems to find it quite appetizing.  Suppose caterpillar could be considered meat?
Congrats to the HEABies for getting through that first year.
Tags: , , , ,

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

8 responses to “no meat for Misty”

  1. elise says :

    i dont blame him for being taken by peas. they are beauts

  2. Lou says :

    mmm peas with nutritional yeast and salt. beautiful 🙂

  3. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    So sweet – thanks Lou and Misty. Summer had a wonderful first birthday, and is so excited that Misty’s is coming up soon. In fact, we need your addy as she wants to send him a little something. Would you mind emailing it to me?

    Of course he wanted to eat his caterpillar – looks like a big row of oversized peas! 😉

    • Lou says :

      Hooray! Birthdays are the best… so exciting. I love other people’s birthdays way more than my own, it’s so nice to spoil loved ones 🙂

  4. Emmy (Wine and Butter) says :

    How freaking awesome would it be if Summer and Misty got together!?!?! I think I say this every time I comment on your blog but I NEED my food processor back!!! Thanks also for your kind comment on my blog sweet friend… I love your kindness!!! xox

    • Lou says :

      Yeah, you totally need some food processor actions – I couldn’t live without mine, I use it at least 3 times a day. Loved your post on your Dad, amazing words… I even showed it to a friend who is struggling with losing her Mum to cancer, she really appreciated it 🙂

  5. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Aaah…so cute! I can just picture him picking up his peas…I think it’s so wonderful that Misty can discern what he enjoys, what he wants to eat, and what he doesn’t – although it is unfortunate that he hasn’t learned the monetary value of meat yet, lol! 😛 Very lucky woof though! 😉 I love that he loves his peas – very cool to have a veggie loving little one!
    I’m loving all the usual things – almond butter, bananas, snack bars, oatmeal, cereal, veggies – but seasonally, I’m really stoked about it being winter squash season! And I’m trying to eat lots of veggies, fruit and produce, and more vegan meals – we watched some very interesting documentaries this week that got me relaly excited about eating more veggies and fresh food over fish and meat! ❤ xyx

  6. Lou says :

    I’m actually seriously toying with the idea of going fully vegan,,,, it’s going to be hard (arrrrrgh Salmon!) but I think I would feel better about it. Still just pondering on it, it’s a huge leap so I’m putting serious thought into it. Possible New Year’s resolution? I eat probably 95% vegan anyhow…. we’ll see what the new year brings 🙂

Leave a Reply

