no sugar no bake buckwheat na na bites

Another day, another sugar free recipe.
Cutting out sugar is no big deal for me; I don’t eat a lot of the refined stuff anyway – my sweetness tends to appear in the form of honey, agave, molasses or rice syrup.  For the next 10 days however, I will be relying on simply fruit for a bit of the sweet stuff.  My taste buds have been reprogrammed over a period of time to appreciate the sweetness that comes naturally from fruit, vegetables and whole grains (I sound like such a geek).  I do understand why people struggle so much with cutting back on sugar though – it is snuck into EVERYTHING these days, no wonder as a population we are addicted to the stuff.
Just don’t even think about asking me to give up salt.  That is one white powder that I AM addicted to.  Hey, a girl has gotta have a vice right?  Right?  I’m doing well on the sugar, let’s just focus on that.
Bananas are awesome.  Such a great baking “tool” – they add sweetness, moisture and nutrition to any creation.  I use them a lot to cut down on added sugar, butter or oil in recipes.  This recipe is ridiculously easy – it requires just mixing and freezing so I don’t want to hear any excuses.
Buckwheat na na Bites
(Wheat, gluten, soy, dairy, egg free.  Vegan.  They could be raw if you used sprouted, dehydrated buckwheat groats, raw almond meal or oats.  Just sayin’).
  • 1/2C almond meal
  • 1/4C roasted buckwheat groats, ground into flour (or sub in 1/4C oatmeal)
  • 1/4t sea salt
  • 1T ground flax
  • 1/2C raisins
  • 1/2t ground cinnamon
  • 1/3C pureed banana (basically 1 medium banana, mashed up)
  • 2t nut butter
  • 1t coconut oil

Combine first 7 ingredients and set aside for 10 minutes or so.

Add in nut butter and coconut oil (melted).  Mix well.

Roll teaspoons of dough into balls and then flatten with a fork.  Place on a lined baking tray.

Freeze.

The banana flavour comes through nice and strong which I love… having been without bananas for months due to Cyclone Yasi which devastated the banana crops of Queensland, I welcome back affordable bananas with open arms.  It got to the point that a single banana was costing around $3 earlier in the year, yeesh.

I’ve been here.  It wasn’t as big as I was expecting.  Disappointing.

Misty is also digging the addition of banana in his diet – he enjoys them cut into rounds with a dollop of almond butter, and a sprinkling of cinnamon.  These cookies are baby friendly, but they do contain nuts, so be aware of any sensitivities to these.  Tahini would work in the place of nut butter.  The raisins could also be a choking hazard for younger babies.  You can omit, or simply chop finely before adding to mix.

I think frozen raisins are my new favourite thing.  Little chewy nuggets of sweetie yum yum.  I won’t tell you what Viper said they looked like.  Stupid Viper.

Tags: , , ,

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

8 responses to “no sugar no bake buckwheat na na bites”

  1. Hannah says :

    Oooh! I could do that! The bites, I mean. I’ve always thought that I couldn’t do the no-sugar thing, but I don’t think I realised you could use natural sweeteners and fruits!

    • Lou says :

      Yeah, I’m crazy for dried fruits – nature’s candy… just banana+ raisins add plenty of sweetness for my taste buds. These are super easy, and really yummy especially cos they are frozen… ah frosty treats on a hot day, yummo 🙂

  2. lindsay says :

    uhh yes, i will be making these. I have buckwheat flour, will that work? Or maybe garbanzo flour? good stuff Lou.

    p.s.
    I should bring you some KerryGold butter from US!

    • Lou says :

      garbanzo flour would work, but I would toast it in a skillet first to get rid of that raw flour taste. failing that just sub in gluten free oats ground down into a “flour” or it would probably work with all almond flour.

      Yeah, HEABie goes nuts for the KerryGold.. must be good stuff – NZ butter is pretty amazing though (have you tried?) Mainland Butter is my favourite 🙂

      Yeah this recipe is strangely addictive… I think frozen raisins are my new favourite thing, sweetie chewy little nuggets 🙂

  3. jane says :

    Those buckwheat bites look really good! I am also doing the sugar free challenge … thanks for sharing!

    • Lou says :

      Thanks for reading – it’s amazing how much sweetness just banana and raisins give to these little bites.. they are addictive, frozen raisins are my new favourite thing 🙂

  4. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Oooh…those look so nice! 🙂 And frozen raisins? Amazing! ❤ I love frozen banana, frozen mango chucks, and frozen grapes – they are soooo creamy and filling and fun to eat…not to mention delicious! xyx

    • Lou says :

      mmm I live on frozen fruits in the Summer, it gets so hot here around Feb (like 40 degrees most days) My freezer is always stocked aplenty… love frozen banana, mango+ grapes best. Yip, frozen raisins are AWESOME a new fav! Chewy sweet little bites of goodness 🙂

Leave a Reply

