small, but hot like chilli*

* Viper tells me this is how one of his workmates describes (ahem) himself if you get my drift.  Wouldn’t think a male would willingly admit this, anyhow…  One time, we had a Mexican party.

I had a mono-brow.

We drank sangria.  Lots of sangria.  I made cactus sculptures out of pickles.  There was a pinata.  A lot of cheese and corn chips were consumed.   I drank lots of sangria.  I didn’t make this particular dip, but something kind of close to it.  Basically, I wanted something yummy and spicy for lunch today, utilising what limited resources I had on hand.  I am also participating in Alex’s Sugar Free Challenge  so needed something that would not cause a sugar induced coma.

Luckily I’m not a big sugar fan at the best of times, so it’s not too difficult for me. This is what I came up with:

Red Bean Small Chilli Dip:

(If you want to make this into a salad dressing, simply thin with water and a splash of apple cider vinegar until you reach the desired consistency).

  • 1C cooked red kidney beans
  • 1/3C jarred salsa (one with no added sugar, of course)
  • 1/2C cooked sweet potato (or pumpkin)
  • 3T nutritional yeast
  • 1/4t sea salt
  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed
  • Black pepper, freshly ground to taste
  • 1/4t ground cumin
  • 1/4t ground coriander
  • 1t lime juice
  • 1/4 small birds eye chilli (or to taste, the ones I have at the moment are blow your face off HOT).
  1. Blend all ingredients together in a food processor.  Serve with assorted ‘dippers’ (not the birds eye chilli as pictured if you would like to keep your eyebrows… HOT).
A baby friendly version would go something like this:
  • 1C cooked red kidney beans
  • 1/2C cooked sweet potato (or pumpkin)
  • 1/3C canned tomatoes
  • 3T nutritional yeast
  • 1/4t garlic powder
  • 1/8t ground coriander
  • 1/4t ground cumin
  • Black pepper, freshly ground
  • 1/2t lime juice
  1. Blend.  Spread on rice cakes, toast, or just let your little one smear it all over themselves.
Tags:

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

10 responses to “small, but hot like chilli*”

  1. Emmy (Wine and Butter) says :

    oh lou! i need to get some more NY!! Ive totally run out because – and this is clearly all my fault – i started eating the last batch out of the tub (like chips) and then had some kind of mild allergic reaction (probably to the niacin overdose ive since discovered) and then had a panic attack about that… and havent been able to go back since. so -word to the wise – dont do that – but I prob do need to buy some to make recipes like this!! Do you eat much cheese yourself??

    • Lou says :

      I’m not actually a big cheese fan… too much hard cheese really effects my skin, but I do LOVE soft cheeses like goats feta, cottage cheese, ricotta, buffalo mozzarella etc. I really dig nutritional yeast, soooo delicious (maybe just go a little easier on it!!!) I eat a couple of tablespoons a day at least and don’t have any adverse reaction to it. Even Viper likes it 🙂

  2. Emmy (Wine and Butter) says :

    ps – suepr cute kid! 🙂

  3. elise says :

    hmmm…small is not great. nor is being hot like chilli. it makes me think gassy like chilli.

    anyway how adorable is misty with his dip covered face! haha

  4. Lou says :

    I know – apparently the guy who says this is Fijian, so I think there is a little bit of ‘lost in translation’ going on… amusing though 🙂

    Yes, Misty is a messy messy boy – I’m just thankful for wooden floors in my house, and a leather couch – everything is wipe down friendly… don’t think I could handle food being mushed into carpet constantly, gross!

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree says :

    That sounds amazing! I had a black bean soup for dinner tonight, but I wish I had made this instead!

    Glad you’re having fun with the challenge!

    • Lou says :

      It’s so not a hard thing to reduce the amount of sugar you consume – people think it’s hard, but it’s all about adjustments. These days, every one is used to a ridiculous amount of sugar in everything… you just need to re programme your taste buds and get them to appreciate the natural sweetness that is in fruit, veges and grains. Thanks for putting up the challenge 🙂

  6. Brittany says :

    Bahahah I loveee the monobrow!! Sexy mamaaaa! That last picture of your little man is ADORABLE!! Food on face is ESSENTIAL!

  7. Lou says :

    bring back the monobrow I say 🙂

Leave a Reply

