blueberries for Babe, not bacon

*Warning* The follow post contains content that may disturb/offend vegans or vegetarians.  Sorry.

I’m not a vegan.  I would really really like to be, but there are a couple of things in my way.

  • Yoghurt (tastes delicious)
  • Salmon (tastes delicious)
  • Leather (couches, handbags and shoes.  No comparison)
  • Honey (tastes delicious)

Only 4 things, so it’s not all bad – but it doesn’t help my conscience.

I stopped eating pigs because I had a childhood obsession with them – countless stuffed animals, trinkets, books – name anything pig related, and I probably had it, or was pining for it.

la la laaaaaa

My old boss and manager (see picture below) also loved pigs – so much so they called themselves the “Pig Sisters,” and committed themselves to eating pig every.single.day.  Not quite the same philosophy I had, but I couldn’t penalise them for their dedication.  My boss even created a fictional character “Piglet Swiggins,” whom she painted fairytale-esque portraits of and penned whimisical tales of his adventures.  Bacon was renamed ‘strips of Piglet Swiggins’ on the menu, which needed to be explain every time.

Yes, that is a pig on a spit.  It took 11 hours to cook.  It was amazing.  For the first time in oh, probably 15 years I ate pig (I was 4 months pregnant here, and it was my birthday, can I blame it on either of those somehow?)

This is the creator of Pigglet Swiggins; that is the actual snout.  She later ATE the snout too.  Bless.

I went back to eating meat when I was pregnant.  I’m not really sure why, it just kind of happened.  I craved meat, and I was severely anemic, so I just went with what my body was telling me.  I don’t feel bad about it; I had a pretty much perfect pregnancy, labour and birth.

I made this recipe today (maybe I needed to create something vegan to make myself feel better.  Who knows?)

A variation, naturally.

  • 1/2C coconut milk
  • 1/8t guar gum
  • 1/2 vanilla bean pod, scraped of it’s seeds (vanilla extract is fine)
  • 1T agave syrup
  • Pinch of pink sea salt
  • 1/3C frozen blueberries
  • 1 date
  • Splash of water for blending
  • Toasted coconut shavings (optional)
  1. Blend together blueberries, date and water.
  2. Combine coconut milk, salt and vanilla in a small saucepan.  Bring to the boil.
  3. Reduce to a simmer, add guar gum, stirring until it thickens.
  4. Add in blueberry paste, reserving a little for topping off the servings.
  5. Pour into bowls and chill in fridge.  It gets to a yoghurt sort-of consistency.
  6. Garnish with reserved blueberry, and toasted coconut shavings if desired.

I wanted it to look fun – I think it’s important for kiddies to be excited by their food – nature provides us with so many amazing colours, why not milk it?  Beetroot, pumpkin, peas – beautiful colours that just jump out and smack you in the head with their vibrancy. I don’t know if Misty gets this quite yet (he’s more into eating cardboard, mmm) but it makes cooking creative for me.

I’ve found my thrill.

It’s not on a hill, but it IS blueberry.

Oh so pretty.

Kind to the creatures too.  Hooray.

Tags: ,

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

4 responses to “blueberries for Babe, not bacon”

  1. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Oh my gosh – so good! 🙂 The blueberry coconut pudding – not the spit roasted pig, lol! 😛 Although the Kiwi would be all over the latter! 😉 Lou, you keep making things I want to eat! ❤
    I don't think I could be vegan either – I mostly am except for organic free range turkey (every now and then) and salmon. Salmon by bucket load. So I'm not really almost vegan at all! And when we move to NZ, I am going to be all over the fish there – love smoked kingfish – and mussels, to name but a few! 😀
    I agree – love nature's colourful food – nothing makes me happier than a vibrant plate of natural delicousness! 😉 xyx

    • Lou says :

      Oh my goodness – NZ seafood is amazing! Paua fritters, whitebait, crayfish, blue cod burgers, mmmmm. When are you moving to NZ?!?! xx

  2. Caitlin @ Vegetarian in the City says :

    I’m a pescatarian and totally understand your reasons for not going vegan! there a few food items I just don’t want to give up – you know cheese, chocolate, fish, gelatin etc. funny halloween pics btw!!

    (Pescetarianism is the practice of a diet that includes seafood but not the flesh of other animals.
    In addition to fish and/or shellfish, a pescetarian diet typically includes all of vegetables, fruit, nuts, grains, beans, eggs and dairy. The Merriam-Webster dictionary dates the origin of the term “pescetarian” to 1993 and defines it to mean: “one whose diet includes fish but no meat”.[1])

    • Lou says :

      totally forgot about chocolate!! the photos are from a surprise birthday party my workmates threw for me (we don’t really celebrate Halloween like you guys do!) it was pretty crazy 🙂 I reckon I’m pretty much pescatarian too.

Leave a Reply

