’tis the season

It’s the time of the year I’ve been waiting for.

When mangoes go viral.  Cheap, plentiful, BIG and sweet.  Bring it.

Yip, I am totally where all those mangoes are at.  (Dark patches are mango growing regions of Australia  – I’m on the right about 3/4 the way up)  It’s the place to be.

This time last year, I was 3 1/2 weeks away from giving birth, very bored and all I wanted was mango smoothies.  I HAD to have one every day, no ifs and no buts.

Yes, I realise that most of the people reading this are either heading into Autumn/Winter or live in a strange little place where mangoes are imported from who knows where, gassed and ridiculously expensive (Hi there Kiwis!) but I don’t care.  I have mangoes, and I’m going to make things with them.  (I told Viper I was going to use our entire savings account to buy all of the mangoes our local grocer has – 99c each – and then proceed to do mango angels with them on our dining room floor.  He said, ‘cool.’  Either not listening or purposely ingnoring me.  Wonder why?)

Misty sampled his first mango this morning.  Misty approves.  Mango puree stirred into coconut quinoa with almond butter on top (for me and Misty).  I tried Ashley’s method of cooking the quinoa for a change. It was wicked knickers (that means good).

I needed an excuse to include mango in our dinner tonight.  Nothing screams Summer to me more than mango and avacado together in a salad.  One of our favourite warm weather meals is a Thai style prawn salad with avacado, mango, mung bean vermicilli and a coconut palm sugar and chilli sauce (recipe will appear at some point)  Yummo.  Not tonight though – this is a bit of a mixed up meal – it doesn’t quite know what it’s trying to be – Middle Eastern, Indian, Thai flavours, they are all here. This is how I cook; every meal is a touch experimentation, a little exploration. I think I may have a touch of the Bi Polar form of Vi Polar?

Sweet Potato Black Bean Balls:

  • 1C cooked black beans
  • 2T flax combined with 4T water to form an ‘egg’
  • 1/4C chickpea flour
  • 2T oatmeal
  • 1t salt
  • 3/4t ground coriander
  • 1t ground cumin
  • Chilli flakes to taste
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1/2C cooked sweet potato (any root vegetable would work)

Whizz everything together in a food processor.  Wet hands, and roll into golf sized balls. Chill in the fridge for half an hour or so to help them firm up.

1/3C wheatgerm

Roll balls in wheatgerm (it just sticks by itself, score)

I cooked these in a fry pan spritzed with coconut oil, just to seal them off a bit.  Once I had rolled them around the pan, I transferred to a lined baking tray and put them in the oven at 180 degreesC.  Cook for 20 minutes, turning once.  These would be awesome deep fried, but we do not have a deep fryer as Viper has no self control, and I’m not a huge grease monkey lover.

They crack and look like little rock cakes.

But they stay nice and soft on the inside.

Cheating  Mango Salsa:

1 mango

1 avacado

1/2 small red onion

1 small red pepper

1 1/2t lime pickle*

1t lime juice

1/4t sea salt

Freshly ground black pepper

1/4C fresh coriander (cilantro)

Finely dice avacado, onion, mango and pepper.

Mix in all remaining ingredients.  Chill until ready to serve.

I use this type of lime pickle – bitter, salty, spicy, delicious.  You only need a tiny bit – it’s brutal.  Could make my own, but that’s why it’s “cheating” – you know it’s wrong, but it’s just so good.  The pickle, I’m talking about the pickle.

Wow, she just keeps going, doesn’t she?  Serve with:

Wholemeal Paratha (adapted from The Asian Vegan Kitchen* and suggestions from local and overly friendly Indian grocery store man).

1C wholemeal Atta flour

1/2t sea salt

50ml warmish water (plus a few extra tablespoons of water, add as you need)

2T oil or ghee

Mix together flour and salt.  Add water and mix until smooth.  Rest dough for 10 minutes.  Divide up dough, roll into balls on a floured surface.

Smoosh them down as thin as you can get them. Rolling pin or wine bottle comes in handy.  Heat up a fry pan with 2T oil (I use coconut) When hot, place dough in pan, cook quickly for about 45 seconds each side until golden brown.  Serve immediately with balls, salsa and a fresh green salad.

Unless I mention anything different, my recipes will  feed 2-3.  Usually 2 in our household.

I have many many more mango recipes to share, create and tweak. One I’m particularly famous for is my “Mango La-La” which involves a lot of vodka and a lot of mango and a blender.

I’m a bit of a freak, just like wasting chocolate makes me angry, I decided to utilise the seemingly defunct mango stones (all of that sweet amazing flavour that was just going to be tossed away).  I put 3 mango stones in my tea pot with some fresh mint and brewed tea with them.  It was kinda awesome.  I know, I know, I’m very special, Viper tells me all the time.  Don’t judge.

my teapot is probably my favourite thing ever, aside from Misty

*If you are vegan/interested in vegan cooking – this book is AWESOME.  I love it because this is the kind of food I love to eat/experiment with, but without the usual meaty spot-light grabbers.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

8 responses to “’tis the season”

  1. Alexia @ NamasteYoga says :

    oh i love mangoes too! the season just finished in India so it must have moved on to Australia! Good to see that you are making most of it and using them for LOTS of different recipes. I am dreaming about my recently made mango smoothie with cocoa quinoa… mhmm

    • Lou says :

      I made your smoothie and the quinoa! It was CRAZY good! love that cococa quinoa, how amazing are mangoes? seriously, it’s almost hard to believe that they are good for you 🙂

  2. Three-Cookies says :

    No mango trees in Sweden but mangoes are not that expensive, especially when supermarkets have specials. The vege ball recipe is unique, I will try that

    • Lou says :

      That’s great you can still get mangoes – I had never eaten a fresh mango unitl I moved to Australia, and it blew my mind! Nectar of the gods!

  3. Brittany says :

    Mango’s are soooooooooo good. I want that salsa asap too!

    • Lou says :

      Mango and avacado = amazingness. I reckon there is some kind of dessert/pudding potential in that combination – what do you think? Might have to experiment 🙂

  4. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Wow, Lou, you are quite the chef! 😀 That’s so cool that you feed Misty such healthy nutrient dense “grown-up” foods! 🙂
    Gotta say, NZ makes up for it’s lack of local mangoes with it’s abundance of buttercup squashes 😉 both are sweet and orange, so not that difference, lol! 😛 Enjoy your fave fruit! ❤
    My favourite way to eat mango is in thailand, in mango sticky rice – so yummy! I also buy bags of frozen mango chunks, and it's like ice-cream, I can eat a whole bag and feel so happy! In fact, I need to go buy some, lol! 😛
    Mango + Avocado sounds AMAZING! xyx

    • Lou says :

      Yeah, Misty gets fun food – I just leave out the salt in his versions. NZ does have a lot of buttercup pumpkin… reminds me so much of my Mum, it’s her favourite. She makes the most incredible pumpkin soup. When I was little I HATED pumpkin (!) so she would make this soup and call it “Golden Soup” – I would gobble it up and ask for more, yet still say I hated pumpkin. Oh my goodness, mango sticky rice is my FAVOURITE, oh I want to go back to Thailand so bad 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

