peter, peter ___________ eater

Peer pressure.  It got to me.

I caved.  I’ve made something with PUMPKIN.

All these delicious pumpkin-y recipes circling the blog world – oh how I long for their tender touch.  Not really, I just like to be dramatic – it was only because my local fruit+veg dealer had butternuts on sale for $1.

Let’s just say I’m paying homage to all those creative pumpkin crazy peeps on the other side of the world who are preparing for woolly socks, steaming hot mugs of soup and crispy colourful leaves under foot.

I won’t mention the fact I’m in shorts and a singlet, sipping on a fresh mango smoothie and about to take my little beastie to the beach once he awakens from his sweet afternoon slumber.

A certain Hippie and her genius inclusion of quinoa and buckwheat in a crunchy tasty granola treat was inspiration enough, but I felt I had to include the flavour of the month.   We all know about my aversion to sticking to recipes, so although my mission started by simply wanting to try the Hippie’s recipe, I have taken a slight detour….

Spiced Pumpkin Granola

DRY:

1C whole rolled oats

1/2C buckwheat groats

1/3C black quinoa (white or red, same same)

3T black chia seeds

2T sesame seeds

1/3C coconut threads

1/4C pepitas

1/2C dark raisins

SPICE:

1t ground ginger

1 1/2t ground cinnamon

1t mixed spice

1/2t sea salt

WET:

1/4C maple syrup

1T coconut oil

3/4C pumpkin puree

  • Mix together dry ingredients, leaving aside the raisins.
  • Assemble spices.
  • Melt coconut oil and combine with pumpkin and maple syrup.
  • Mix spices into dry, and add wet ingredients.  Make sure everything gets a good coating.
  • I split the mix between 2 trays, lined with baking paper.
  • Bake for 1 hour at 150 degrees C, rotating trays and stirring ingredients every 15 minutes to ensure even crisping.
  • Turn off oven and leave granola inside to cool.
  • Once cool, mix in raisins and store in an airtight container.
This is seriously good.  For the small amount of oil I used, the texture is great – a nice crunch factor.  I think using coconut threads is important, as it brings a chewiness that would get lost with just the dessicated version.  The main sweetness comes from the raisins, the maple syrup is very mellow, which sits well with me as I’m not into overly sweet muesli mixes (I don’t like to feel as if I’m eating a bowl full of crumbled cookies for breakfast, although that may be quite delicious…. hmmm).
About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

11 responses to “peter, peter ___________ eater”

  1. Vegetarian in the City says :

    mmmm this would make a great gift! just add a bow 🙂

  2. Lou says :

    yeah, it would – great idea!

  3. lindsay says :

    okay well if you do it, i’ll do it. Buy pumpkin that is. I never buy it. I don’t know why either. It looks good though!

    • Lou says :

      It’s really good, I was unsure if it was going to work out or not, but it’s a winner. I only buy them if they are cheap – cos I’m cheap! Misty loves anything pumpkin though, loves to smear bright orange all over his mother.

  4. elise says :

    well now you’ve gone and brought pumpkin into the mix!! seems like i may have to try this version out. 🙂

    • Lou says :

      It is GOOD! Who would have thought? Actually, pumpkin is good in anything – the quinoa is just so yummy and crunchy, love love love your original idea for that 🙂

  5. Brittany says :

    Pumpkiinnnnn!!! YESS!! SO GOOD!

  6. teabagginit says :

    wow! this looks really good & i love the inclusion of quinoa – great source of protein!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. i eat sunshine for breakfast « fridge scrapings - October 26, 2011

Leave a Reply

