just like a bought one (I hope not)

Battle of the Bars.

Bar Wars.

Bar Wars – the E number Strikes Back.

Viper has Star Wars figurines still in their boxes.

Anyway, back to my baby food bar comparison experiment.

Let’s see them side by side.

Ok, so the one on the right is a little more uniform, a little prettier, but I’m being picky here.  It smelt kinds funny too, almost like a fruity perfume?  Weird.  Obviously it was this bar that started this feverish research into muesli bars made for infants.

I got a free “show bag” at our local supermarket yesterday – a perk of belonging to the ‘Baby Club’ (Oh Joy!)  Basically, a bag filled with free samples of baby paraphernalia, coupons and the likes.  Sweet – a few packs of free baby wipes never go astray.  Included in the bag was a sample-sized “Fruit-filled Bar” made by a company that is considered a ‘health food’ company.  Conveniently, as it was a sample bar, there was no nutritional info.  Being the geek I am, I googled the product and found all of the information (see Exhibit A).

That was enough for me.

Boosty got the sample bar (on the right, above if you couldn’t tell) and I set to work making my own version.

 

Easy.  Ridiculously easy.  Quick, tasty and they contain 6 (!) organic ingredients (that are recognisable).  Fancy that.

I know there are worse things that Misty could be eating than a seemingly innocent supermarket- bought fruit bar (and I know he will once the hormones kick in, and he discovers the Whopper with Cheese) but while I’m ruling the roost, I’m going to try my darndest to make sure he gets the best start.  For around 20 minutes of my time, I created him something that is less than 1/4 of the price of a bought one, with ingredients of the highest possible quality.

Recipe will follow, I’m going to tweak it, and  do some more exciting ‘adult’ versions.  No, not that type of ‘adult.’  They’re muesli bars, people.  Think of the children.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

13 responses to “just like a bought one (I hope not)”

  1. Alexia @ NamasteYoga says :

    amazing story, well written! I am doing the same thing as you- tasting sampler, googling it up and recreating my much BETTER version! Amazing how your fruit bars turned out. Please share the recipe!

    • Lou says :

      Recipe will be coming soon! Want to get a little creative with some variations. They are pretty scrummy though, and fun to make.

  2. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    I think your bar looks much tastier, more natural and wholesome – and I loved the pictures of them as you made them…they look so cool! I think your attitude towards feeding your child such healthy foods, while you are in charge of that, is awesome 🙂 Have a lovely day! ❤ xyx

    • Lou says :

      Thank you! When you think about it, it’s a pretty huge responsibility to educate a child on healthy living – good nutrition is the foundation of a happy, healthy little human x

  3. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    Looking forward to the recipe. 🙂

  4. Hannah says :

    This. Is. Fantastic. I honestly cannot wait for the recipe, as my kid-at-heart nature means that all kinds of easy-to-make sweet snacks own my soul! Also, I’ve always been a little creeped out by how those store-bought muesli-type fruit bars always taste the same, despite proclaiming to be filled with different fruits…

    P.S. Pistachio and chocolate version please? 😉

    • Lou says :

      mmmm pistachio chocolate? genius. I hear you on the store-bought “fruit” bars – they are just plain weird! They have such an artificial smell, like fruit flavoured chapstick or something. Fine for the dog, not for baby! Am refining the recipe so hopefully won’t be long 🙂

  5. Brittany says :

    I think this is awesome that you are giving him homemade food. I am going to be doing the exact same thing when I have a kid. Start em’ young!!! GOOD job, plus these look tasty enough that I would eat em too!

    • Lou says :

      They ARE tasty (amazing considering no sugar or salt!) I’ve munched more than Misty I think, whoooooops. It’s really fun making him food – good to know that he’s discovering REAL food, not something full of weird ingredients from a plastic packet 🙂

  6. Andrea of Care to Breed says :

    Can’t wait to pin the recipe 🙂 I haven’t had a fruit bar in years because of the scary ingredient list.

    • Lou says :

      Tell me about it! If you make the recipe, it’s heaps easier if you roll out dough between 2 sheets of baking paper…. avoid lots of swearing and pain this way 🙂 Really need to edit the recipe and add that little point, makes life so much simpler! They are yummo though, I’ve got some other varieties in the pipeline.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. non toxic toddler treat (terrific) « fridge scrapings - October 25, 2011

Leave a Reply

