appley ever after (?)

I have been doing some serious thinking about these muesli bars.  Wow.  That makes my life seem so thrilling.  I suppose it’s a good sign that the most troubling issue in my life right now are these pesky muesli bars that I am trying to perfect for Viper.  I can deal with muesli bars.

I have decided to cut down the amount of nut butter/tahini that I used in previous versions (#1  #2  #3  #4).  I think there was a bit of overkill in the ‘nut’ factor – lots and lots of nuts and seeds in lots and lots of nut butter.  Too much of a good thing?  Well, they all still tasted pretty darn delish, but I’m trying to slip in a bit of moderation here.  Nuts and nut butters are expensive, and seeing as I usually make all my own butters, I don’t want to risk blowing up my trusty old friend.

A tad fuzzy, but SO good looking.

I am left questioning my options.  I need something to help solidify this fruity nutty mass into bar form – I’m thinking coconut oil.  Lucky for me, I just acquired 1 litre of the good stuff.

Sweet bucket O love

To keep the nice  (ew, sorry I’m going to have to use this word) moist texture, I’m adding in some apple sauce (puree).  Canned is fine -I have made my own, as it is super easy, quick and CHEAP.  If you decide to make your own, here’s a little sneaky tip…..

Peel, core and cut apples into small cubes (smaller pieces, quicker cooking).  Cover the apple pieces in the least amount of water you can get away with.  Boil apples until tender and blend in a food processor.   NOW, do NOT get rid of the cooking water.  Carefully strain you apple pieces, but reserve the liquid in a separate bowl or something similar.  You are left with the most beautifully perfumed apple water – I like to use it to brew herbal tea with.  Get some dried ginger root (or a nob of fresh ginger), a cinnamon stick and some fresh mint – pour over your apple water and steep for a few minutes.  It’s delicious!

I’m going to keep the brown rice syrup as my sweetener –  Viper declared the last batch was the perfect amount of sweet.  Dried apple makes an appearance – less sweet than most dried fruit – with some cinnamon and currants for good luck.

I have simplified the method too – no flax eggs or timing boiling honey.  Simple is good ya?

Cinnamon Spiced Apple Oat Bars:

  • 1/2C oatmeal
  • 1/2C whole oats
  • 1/4C chopped cashews
  • 1/4C chopped almonds
  • 1/4C chopped dried apple
  • 2T currants
  • 1T ground cinnamon
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1/4C sesame seeds
  • 1/3C apple sauce
  • 1T coconut oil
  • 1T peanut butter
  • 1/4C brown rice syrup

Dry toast cashews, almonds, sesame seeds and whole oats (in separate batches) in a fry pan.  Combine with chopped dried fruit, oatmeal, cinnamon, salt and apple sauce in a medium sized bowl.

Combine coconut oil, peanut butter and rice syrup in a small saucepan and melt together.  Once the mix has combined, take off heat (you do not need to boil and simmer this mix) and carefully combine with all other ingredients.

Pack down tightly into a lined baking tin, and chill until firm enough to cut into bars/squares.

Viper’s Verdict: He told me I was amazing.  I think he liked them!

Maybe we have a winner?!  Don’t worry – the experiments will not stop, there are too many flavour combinations left to play with, too many nuts left un- toasted.  Until next time ….

*Edit to add* Viper has since come back and said, ‘I think they need a little more crunch.’

The quest continues.


About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

10 responses to “appley ever after (?)”

  1. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Oh my gosh, those bars look amazing! They look like biscotti! 🙂 do you think that would work with agave syrup or coconut syrup, instead? I don’t have brown rice syrup…but I’d love to whip these up! 🙂 xyx

    • Lou says :

      I reckon they would definitely work with agave! I think the most important ingredient is the coconut oil to help them solidify, the brown rice syrup is just for a touch of sweetness. These are my favourite version so far, I keep nibbling away at the stash! I’ve never heard of/seen coconut syrup, sounds YUM 🙂

  2. Brittany says :

    Oh my yummmmmness..these look amazing! I love that you prepared us all for the usage of the word moist..that must be a universal “icky” word! Haha.

    • Lou says :

      that word is just wrong. the annoying thing is, there’s not really another word out there that adequately describes like it. it is fun to try and think of disgusting words though – i think ‘slip’ is quite gross too (memories of a particularly greasy guy at a bar that “squeezed” passed me saying, ‘mind if I just SLIP on by?’ shudder)

  3. Natalie says :

    just found your blog through katiedid! these cinnamon spiced oat bars look great – perfect for the fall! =)

    • Lou says :

      Yay, thanks for reading! Yeah, these are a bit fall-inspired (mainly because all the blogs I tend to read are American and it must be rubbing off on me, I’m in Australia where it’s actually Spring!) They are pretty yum if I do say so myself 🙂

  4. lindsay says :

    LOL! I hate using the word moist too, and i just did it today. eek! good call on the coconut oil. I love using it.

  5. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    You can never overkill on the nuts/seeds…NEVER, especially when tahini is involved.

Leave a Reply

