furiously fridge scraping for food

Is it weird that I have 4 separate shopping lists?  All for food?  I need 4 – there’s one for the  normal supermarket (Woolies or Coles) the cheap supermarket (Aldi), the health food store (oh sweet bulk bins, how I love you), and the asian grocery store.  Not to mention the fish market.

It’s very slim pickings food-wise here today –  it usually is, the day before shopping day.  Viper has sorted himself out with his slow-cooked meaty goodness.

Tried to get a recipe out of him, but he declined, saying, ‘there’s not enough “good” stuff in it.’  (?)  Not sure what that means.  Vegetables?  Anyway, it’s a beef curry, Thai styles, from what I can see (and smell – it is filling the house with an amazing spicy sweet aroma, I’m loving it, even as a non meat eater).

I also love the fact our slow cooker is named the “Crock-o-Dial.”  It is probably the grooviest piece of kitchen equipment I have ever seen – we scored it almost brand-new from an opp shop (thrift store) – complete with handwritten recipes from 1973.  If you haven’t noticed, I am a tad obsessed with anything retro or 70s style.

I am going to have to use every ounce of creative juice stored up in my system to create something edible with what’s available.

This is what I have found to play with.  Inspiration?  Do I know you?

I smell something Mexican-inspired.

Not quite nacho dip/dressing:

(Makes enough to dress 2 salads plus a little more for eating straight out of the bowl)

150g tofu (half of the box I had on hand)

2t chopped jalapenos

3T jarred salsa (mild)

2T nutritional yeast

1t lemon juice

1t apple cider vinegar

1 garlic clove

1/2t salt

1/4t ground cumin

Freshly ground black pepper

To thin it out for a salad dressing, add 2T water.  Otherwise leave as is for a thicker ‘dip.’

Blend all ingredients together.

To make my salad, I added:

  • 1/2C corn kernels
  • 1/3C kidney beans
  • 1/2 red onion, diced finely
  • 1T chopped fresh herbs (coriander would have been perfect, but alas, I had none.  Chives it was)
  • Salad leaves
  • (No photo evidence) Ridiculous amounts of carrots sticks that scooped up the other serving of this sauce
  • A few of Misty’s brown rice cakes (shhhh) made the perfect dipp-age  instruments.  (yes, I invent words)
Viper said he was impressed, and would use this as a spread on his sandwiches – that’s pretty good feedback as he is one fussy customer.  From slim pickings, deliciousness* (I know it’s not a word) is born – it CAN be done, you just need to believe.
*Edit to add* I googled it, and it IS a word.  Ha.
About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

Leave a Reply

