buckwheat and chia, the odd couple that have it ‘going on’

I’m not sure why, but I’m obsessed with the combo of chia seeds and buckwheat groats.  I tried a sprouted, blended cereal version here.  I love it, but the texture of blended buckwheat is interesting, to put it mildly.  So here goes take 2…. I make a classic chia pudding (inspired by the amazing Gena of Choosing Raw) and mix with soaked and toasted buckwheat groats.

Toasty Buckwheat and Chia Jelly:

1/4C chia seeds

1/3C vanilla soy milk (plus a little extra to add in after soaking if it is too ‘claggy’ for your liking)

Good pinch of salt

2T finely chopped dried apricots (or equivalent in any dried fruit)

Good pinch of cinnamon

If you used plain milk, some vanilla extract would be nice.

1/4C buckwheat groats, soaked overnight, then rinsed of the”goo”

Mix together chia, milk, salt, dried fruit and cinnamon.  I usually do this is in the evening, and let soak overnight – like overnight oats.  I give it a few stirs during the first 1/2hour of soaking, just to get rid of any clumps that form.  Soaking it overnight lets the dried fruit plump up and add to the sweetness factor.

While you are prepping the chia, simply cover your buckwheat with water in a small receptacle and let soak overnight.

In the morning, rinse off your buckwheat, pat dry as well as you can with a paper towel.  Toast in a dry fry pan until it dries out a little.  About 2 minutes should be ample; you don’t want it to colour up – it goes way too crunchy- you’ll be chewing your breakfast for about 2 hours if that happens.

Check on your chia jelly – if it is too stiff, simply add in more milk to loosen it a bit.

Optional add-ins:

  • 1T tahini or nut butter
  • 1t sweetner – or to taste (maple, honey, agave, whatever you fancy)
  • Chopped nuts
  • Fresh fruit
  • Yoghurt

Mix buckwheat groats into chia jelly, top with whatever you like – I usually go for some tahini and mashed banana with a dash of honey.

Yummo.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

4 responses to “buckwheat and chia, the odd couple that have it ‘going on’”

  1. Alexia @ NamasteYoga says :

    this breakfast looks amazing! I miss chia seeds so much and cant get them here. I tried to sub them with flax, but its not the same! Great combo! which nut butter do you usually use?

  2. Lou says :

    Chia are so good! Viper hates them, he reckons they have the same texture as a tomato seed that has gotten stuck in your teeth… all the more for me! I usually make my own nut butters on rotation (can’t get the amazing range that they have over in the states, here in Oz) almond, cashew, peanut, hazelnut – I love them all! Tahini is always a favourite though. I have really sensitive skin (get eczema quite badly) and I totally reckon my daily dose of Chia omega 3s has helped to clear it up – my skin is so good now.

  3. Kelsey says :

    You have super fun combinations!! I can’t wait to test out some of your bar recipes!

    • Lou says :

      Thanks! The never ending bar recipes… my partner is one fussy customer – suppose it’s a good thing, the strive for perfection!

Leave a Reply

