reclining heroes, rain storms and relish

My house is quiet.  Too quiet.  All I can hear is the rain, and the odd clap of thunder – spring time storms are upon us.  There’s no ‘yelling,’ no cupboard doors being bashed open and shut violently, no annoying kids singing nursery rhymes, and no sickening thuds as a certain someone gets a little too adventurous and topples over.

The men of the house have departed to go and attend to ‘manly’ things like buying drill bits and MEAT.  The average weather has inspired Viper to get his beloved slow cooker cranking on some stewy meaty goodness.

For once, I can actually focus on my yoga practise.  Usually, Misty accompanies me on the mat and proceeds to clamber all over me.  At least I try.  He can actually do a downward dog.  He’s very talented.  Future yogini perhaps?

It’s hard to catch him on camera in the yoga-act.  This was yesterday and Misty is multi-tasking.  Snacking on one of these and performing a downward facing dog.  I’m so proud.

There seems to be an abundance of delicious, cheap tomatoes around at the moment – too many in fact.  Relish to the rescue – I have a bag sitting in my fridge that is beginning to look a tad sad.

Tomato and Apple Relish:

6 large tomatoes (or equivalent in roma/cherry tomatoes, around 750g  )

1 apple

1 medium brown onion

1 clove garlic, crushed

1t olive oil

1 1/2 T honey

1T apple cider vinegar

1T malt vinegar

1T mustard powder

1/2t curry powder

1t sea salt

1/2t tumeric

1t cornflour made into a  paste with a splash of water

Freshly ground black pepper to taste

Cayenne pepper to taste (optional if you want a bit of bite)

Dice your tomatoes – most recipes call for de-seeding and peeling tomatoes, but really?  Who can be bothered?  I think it’s fine to use all of the tomato, it all cooks down to a nice jammy consistency anyway.

Dice onions finely, and place in a small saucepan with crushed garlic and olive oil.  Gently saute until fragrant, do not brown.  Add tomatoes and apple which has been peeled, cored and chopped finely.

Add remaining ingredients except cornflour and pepper.

Bring to the boil, then turn the heat down as low as it will go and simmer – stirring occasionally for around 1 and 1/2 hours.

Mix cornflour and water to form a paste, and stir into relish to help thicken it up.

Season with black pepper.

Awesome on a grilled cheese sanga, with cooked meats, or (my favourite) THIS combo.

Misty has returned with an inflatable hammer.  He is very happy.  I’m happy with my relish.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

Leave a Reply

