patience is for viper (trial #4)

 

Rice malt is the new honey?  Well, it is for Trial #4 of the ultimate muesli bar for Viper.  Other trials have proven that Viper doesn’t like things too sweet (complete opposite to me).  He would like a little bit of fruit, lots of nuts, not too sweet, and a texture somewhere between crumbly and chewy.  Anything else, my love?  Perhaps a foot rub?  Yeesh. (Trials  #1    #2    #3)

This time I decided to go for a touch of tropicana – mango and coconut (which always pairs delightfully with macadamia nuts).  I do like macadamia nuts, they have grown on me – at first I didn’t like them, as I swear, they are SQUEAKY.  Anyone else get this?  When you bite into one, you get this kind of squeakiness between your teeth.

I also decided to play around with the dry/wet mixtures.  I have included a type of flax ‘egg’ made with milk, and added almond meal to see what it does to the overall texture of the bar.

Macadamia Munchy Bars:

3 strips dried mango, chopped finely (equivalent to 1/4C dried fruit)

1/4C macadamias

1/4C almonds

1/2C oatmeal

1/2C almond meal

1/4C whole oats

1/2t sea salt

1/4C coconut (toasted)

1/4C rice malt syrup

1/4C peanut butter

1/4C tahini

1/4C ground flaxseed mixed with 1/4C milk

2T additional milk to loosen up wet mixture

This is another reason why I have muscles.

Mix together your ground flax and milk, leave for one hour to do it’s thing.

Chop up your nuts and fruit

Mix together nuts, fruit, salt, oatmeal, oats, coconut (I dry toasted this) and almond meal in a decent sized bowl.

Melt together your nut butter, tahini and rice syrup – same as here.  At the same time, add in your flax ‘egg’ with the additional 2T milk.  The mix tends to lose moisture quite quickly, so keep watch as it will stick and burn relatively easily.  Make sure the heat is LOW. Cook for as long as you can without it sticking to the bottom of the pan.

Mix your wet ingredients into the dry, combining well.  Press down firmly into a lined baking tray and chill to help it set.

Well, this trial was a learning experiment.  The texture is quite different, no chewy or crunchiness here – it’s almost like a fudge, your teeth slide right on though with no effort at all.  Denture friendly.  Oh, forgot about the nuts, maybe not so denture friendly.  I think the results are mainly due to the rice malt syrup.  The rice syrup is lower in sugar than honey, so it doesn’t have the same ‘toffee’ making abilities.  It will not set as hard as the honey.  I also think the lower amount of oats which tend to soak up the liquid altered the texture.  Anyway, the taste is YUM.  The amount of sweetness is bang on, and the mango/macadamia combo is a winner.  I liked the texture, the bars seemed really decadent, although I think they would be better as ‘squares,’ (drizzled with white chocolate? hmmm) as they were quite rich.

I think the way forward will be combining the rice syrup with a little coconut oil to help it solidify on cooling, lowering the nut butters, and upping the oats.

Viper’s Verdict: Liked the flavour, perfect amount of sweetness, didn’t like the texture.

One step forward, 10 steps back?  Trial and error, trial and error.  At least they are tasty.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

4 responses to “patience is for viper (trial #4)”

  1. Hannah says :

    I love using dried mango in fruit-nut creations like this, although so far I’ve only ever made my sunflower mango truffles using them! But I love how much further you’ve taken the tropical theme. I, too, am not a fan of macadamias on their own, but their richness definitely works in recipes like this!

  2. Lou says :

    mmm sunflower mango truffles, they sound amazing, will check out your recipe. mangoes rock my world – I am partial to a frosty mango daiquiri on a warm summer’s eve too.

  3. Alexia @ NamasteYoga says :

    these bars look amazing! I make energy balls myself but have never used macademia nuts in them before. I dont know why i never buy them, they seem too “special” or exclusive :). In terms of fruit I have just tried using dried papaya and goji berries- such a nice twist in my new energy balls 🙂

    • Lou says :

      Yum, papaya and goji sounds like a great combo – Weird, I don’t really like fresh papaya (it’s has a slight ‘perfume’ flavour) but I love dried! Goji are such an unusual flavour too, but quite addiciting – I like steeping them as a tea with fresh mint, it’s so energising!

Leave a Reply

