polenta’s reveal

I think I’m on a “leftover -makeovers” kick.  Like Extreme Makeover without all the scary plastic people.  Maybe I should make it a regular thing?

Misty and I are enjoying the spoils anyhow.

Breakfast seemed so long ago, lunch too far away.  2nd breakfast?  Brunch?  Early lunch?  Whatever; the belly wants it now, and the belly must be obeyed.

I always seem to cook too much of the grain/starch components to our dinners.  My fridge is full of tupperware with annoying amounts of cooked potatoes, pumpkin, rice, millet etc.  You’d think I’d learn, but no.  I actually cooked double the amount of polenta needed for last night’s fiesta so needed to create something tasty for Misty and myself (oh, and Boosty, she got the leftovers of the leftovers).

Enter The Peglett…… (polenta+ egg omlette)

Misty’s Version:

  • 1 egg
  • 1T whole milk
  • 1T cheddar cheese
  • 4T leftover polenta
  • 2T thawed edamame
  • Black pepper
  • 1t parsley
This would work well with any sort of leftover grain – quinoa, millet, rice, whatever you have.
Whisk all ingredients together, lightly mist a fry pan with cooking oil, pour in egg mix.  Cook for around 4minutes on each side over a moderate heat.
Lou’s Version:
  • 1 egg
  • 1T soy milk
  • 1T parmesan cheese
  • 4T leftover polenta
  • 1/2t sea salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1t chopped fresh chives
  • 2T Tomato and Apple Relish
  • 1T soy cream cheese
  • Salad leaves
Combine all ingredients except relish, cream cheese and salad leaves in a bowl.  Whisk to combine.
I’m so messy.
Follow same cooking instructions as above.
Spread with relish, dollop on some cream cheese and add some leaves for a bit of green.  Yummo.
Not quite as elegantly plated, but I know a little Misty with a happy belly.
About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

2 responses to “polenta’s reveal”

  1. Hannah says :

    “Peglett” is pretty much the cutest word in the world! And yes, the belly must always be obeyed.

Leave a Reply

