non-meaty muscles

For the first time, pretty much EVER, I have muscles.  Without even trying to get them.  I just sort of “noticed” them a couple of days ago, I did a double-take in front of the mirror, ‘woah, Lou, you’re BUFF!’  (Ha)

They’re what people in the know call “Mummy Muscles.”  I suppose lugging round a 10+ kg chunky monkey will do that to you.  I really noticed in the first week after giving birth that my arms were really sore; (not to mention a few other parts of my body yowzah) they weren’t used to ANY kind of resistance. After that though, my body adapted; while I have noticed Misty getting heavier (and heavier) there’s no struggle involved when carting him around.

The one time I did join a gym, the weights room was my favourite (I hate any form of cardio, I don’t enjoy feeling my lungs trying to jump out of my chest – I have TRIED to get into it, just doesn’t suit me) I do like feeling STRONG.  The type of work I did before child WAS my exercise – being on my feet all day, running around a kitchen, squatting down, up, down, to lowboy fridges pretty much did it for me.  I was active yes, but I wasn’t particularly strong.

I once dated a guy who was a gym-bunny body builder.  On our first date (why didn’t I pull the plug there and then?) we were sitting at a cafe, chatting over coffee when I heard a little alarm go off.  ‘What was that?’ I asked.  He proceeded to pull out of his back pack, all the paraphernalia to make a super protein shake, plus a mega can of tuna.  ‘Protein time,’ he answered nonchalantly.  I mean, good on him for being so passionate and dedicated to his sport, but really?

There’s no set time limit or alarm needed for this protein packed salad; it’s vegan, and if I do say so myself, delicious.

Green Salad for Good Guns

Serves 2

Dressing:

  • 1/2C cooked chickpeas
  • 2T nutritional yeast
  • 1t salt
  • 1/2t lime juice
  • 1/2t apple cider vinegar
  • 4T water to thin
  • 1 clove garlic (omit if you’re not a fan)
  • 1/2t wholegrain mustard
  • Black pepper
BLEND.

Salad Bits: 

1C shelled edamame, thawed

8 asparagus spears, blanched and chopped into desired chunks

4T roasted pepitas (or raw, I just have a jar of ready dry toasted ones)

2 raw zuccinni, grated and squeezed of excess water

1 small red onion, finely diced

Handful of fresh herbs (I had coriander) chopped

Squeeze of lemon to taste

Black pepper to taste

Assemble salad bits and mix with dressing.

Eat, then go pump some iron. Yeah.

 

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

4 responses to “non-meaty muscles”

  1. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    Can I just come over and eat all your creations? P.S. This would be great with some Vegemite Spaghetti! 😉

    • Lou says :

      mmm vegemite spaghetti, that is SO on my ‘to eat’ list! and you are welcome to come eat with me anytime… as long as you bring copious amounts of your oaties!

  2. Vegetarian in the City says :

    oooh that dressing sounds great!! thanks for sharing. i’m going to make this on the weekend 😉

Leave a Reply

