i prescribe nuggets

No playgroup for Misty today – he’s got himself a case of the ‘boogie-eye,’ (think it’s conjunctivitis, nice).  Playgroup would be the worst place to take him with suspected highly contagious eye goop.  The first thing these babies do when they are placed in front of one another, is start grabbing at eyeballs.  All you can hear is a chorus of Mum’s – ‘gentle, gentle now,’ like the babies know to gently stroke an iris.  So off to the doctors we go – after promising Viper not to let Misty ANYWHERE near the communal toy box in the waiting room.  Viper is very vocal on his stance regarding the doctor’s surgery toy box: ‘I seriously saw a kid drop a huge stringy booger straight into the box, slobber all over a plastic banana and put that back into the box, and then cough in another kid’s face.  It’s a super bug breeding ground; promise me, please promise me you will keep Misty AWAY from it.’  I promise Viper, I promise I will do all in my power to protect Misty from the diseased toys.  I reckon the communal toy box is what keeps a lot of doctor’s in business these days, share a toy, share some impetigo.

To soften the blow when I inform Misty that he will not be attending playgroup today, I decided to make him some delicious little treats.

Not quite Mickey D’s Nuggets:

1/2 brown onion, chopped roughly

1 clove of garlic, chopped roughly

A piece of chicken breast the size of a pack of playing cards (or chicken mince so you can skip the blending)

1/8t sweet paprika

1/4t mixed Italian herbs

Ground black pepper

1C raw cauliflower, chopped roughly

1/2C whole milk yoghurt

1-1 1/2C breadcrumbs

Flour- around half a cup should do.

Oil for cooking

Quickly soften onion and garlic in a fry pan (you can skip this if you want; they will be coked later, but I just think the flavour comes out more this way).

Cut your piece of chicken into chunks, place in food processor with onion and garlic.  Pulse.  Add in herbs, pepper, paprika and pulse again (you may have to scrape down sides of bowl).  Add in cauliflower and blend until smooth-ish.

You could sub in broccoli instead of cauliflower; ’twas slim pickings in our household on the vege front, cauliflower was all we had (fridge scrape).

Assemble your yoghurt, breadcrumbs and flour.  I had thick greek yoghurt on hand, so I thinned it out with about 4T water.  Buttermilk or whole milk would be fine options too – it’s just to help the crumb stick.

Use any flour you have on hand.  Again, it’s to help the crumb stick to the chook.  I used 1 and 1/2 pieces of my home made grain bread for the crumb – I simply toasted and whizzed up in the food processor to make crumbs.  Take tablespoons of the chicken mix, pat into desired shape whether it be balls, patties or nuggets.  Coat in flour, then yoghurt and finally breadcrumbs.  Shape again.  Be prepared to get messy.

Pre cook.

Lightly mist a fry pan with oil.  Cook in batches of 5, over a moderate temperature for about 2.5-3 minutes each side until cooked through and golden.

Crispy chicken nuggets with secretly stashed cauliflower.  I’m not sure if Misty is even going to get a look in, as Viper keeps munching them.  He wants to know why Misty gets such yummy treats.  Because Misty has the boogie eye, that’s why.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

2 responses to “i prescribe nuggets”

  1. Hannahnnah says :

    I’m absolutely in love with your idea of using raw cauliflower! So creative!

  2. Lou says :

    Vegetable sneaking, my favourite game of the moment!

Leave a Reply

