pumped on life

Isn’t it nice to be excited?  Such a great feeling; sometimes I think as you get older, you lose the ability to some extent.  As a kid I remember being SO excited about even the most trivial things.  A sports day a school, a sleepover at a friend’s house, the promise of a favourite dinner.  I would lie in bed at night, thinking about whatever it was I was peaking over, and literally could feel the excitement pumping around my body.  So much so, I would sometimes have a full  body spasm/wiggle attack and thrash around in my bed just PUMPED.  Maybe I was just a weird kid (still am, still am).  Actually, Viper (who has Peter Pan Syndrome – never wants to grow up) still does that now (the excited body wiggle attack) that’s why we are meant for each other.  Weirdos unite.

Having suffered from Depression most of my adult  life, getting excited sort of disappeared for a long time.  Nothing could get me going.  Numb.  Just numb, and blurry round the edges.  One Christmas Day, I couldn’t even get out of bed.  The prospect of family time, a beautiful meal and PRESENTS had no appeal whatsoever.  Now that’s a bad sign.

It’s funny, these days I get excited when I feel excited – does that make sense?  The ability to feel (anything) again is just so amazing.

I love how different things excite different people.  With me, it’s usually something food/cooking/Misty milestone related.  Viper gets crazy over records/building stuff/surfing and fishing.  Misty thoroughly enjoys the toilet flushing and the fridge opening.  Boosty?  Well Boosty gets excited over a blade of grass blowing in the wind, so we’ll leave her out of this one.  She’s in a league of her own.

At the moment, all things Indian inspired are exciting me.  I wanted to let Misty in on the spice action (and use up things in my fridge) so came up with these:

Pea and Potato Curry Cakes

1/4 frozen peas

Leftover boiled kipfler* potatoes (approximately 1/2C)

1t tahini

1T chopped fresh herbs (coriander, mint or parsley would all be yummo).

1/4t each, or to taste:

  • ground cumin
  • ground coriander seed
  • ground ginger
  • dehydrated onion flakes
1 flax ‘egg’ (1T ground flax in 2T water, left to gel for 10 minutes)
Freshly ground black pepper
* I think the key to this recipe is using a nice waxy potato.  They make the best ‘dough’ for shaping –  it holds together well, and stays reasonably soft on cooking which is great for bubs without any teeth.  Gummy friendly.
I’m not sure if the Kipfler variety is available outside on Australia, so substitutions could include: Round White, Round Red, Yellow Potato, Red Potato, Salad Potato, La Soda, Red La Rouge, Red Pontiac, Red Nordland, Red Bliss, Yellow Finnish, Ruby Crescent, and Australian Crescent.
Blend all ingredients.
Lightly grease a fry pan.  Roll teaspoons of the mix into little balls, flatten to make cakes.  Cook for around 5minutes on each side, until golden and slightly firm to the touch.  This recipes makes around 15 cakes of a 3cm diameter.
Don’t worry, that’s just Misty’s friend, cow watching over the curry cakes.  He’s a bit sad as Boosty ate half of his hind leg.  Now he can’t stand up properly.  Bummer.
You must be shocked to hear that ADULTS can eat these little tasty cakes as well.  I try and make food for Misty that me and Viper can also enjoy – it’s easier for everyone and introduces Misty to a good variety of foods.  Just add SALT (glorious salt) and maybe amp up the herb and spice factor a little (the amounts I give are small to add just a touch of flavour for the inexperienced palette).  You can simply double this recipe, make half baby friendly and spice up the rest for big people munchie time.
Serve them with my Classic Raita, and some mango chutney and no one need know you actually made them for your dribbling beast of a baby.
Classic Raita
  • 3/4C thick plain yoghurt (either full fat or skim)
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed or finely chopped
  • 1 small lebanese cucumber either very finely sliced or grated
  • Squeeze of lemon
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • Sea salt to taste
  • 1/4 – 1/2C fresh mint, chopped finely
Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
Misty also gets excited by apple slices, plastic containers full of pegs, and his beloved dishwasher.
What gets YOU excited?
About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

2 responses to “pumped on life”

  1. lindsay says :

    believe it or not, i can relate. I get excited when I get excited, it means my emotions are connecting! woo! and I would get pumped for that pea cake! curry is my friend.

    • Lou says :

      Peas are just amazing – they are one of few vegetables that seem to survive the freezing process – a steaming bowl of peas with chunks of fresh buffalo mozarella, salt and pepper is my idea of a good time (is that sad?) Good to hear all is well with your family in Christchurch, me and Misty experienced a few smaller shakes when we were over there in June – that was frightening enough!

Leave a Reply

