i feel like i need something else

Ever get that feeling?
I do, all the time.
Having something great, but you want it to even be BETTER.
                     and 
         and             
and     
Each is great on their own, but when they come together they are AMAZING (I’m talking to you, Mr Darcy).
Except this one, no Homer, not a good idea.
I’m a bit of a condiment addict.  I’m not as far gone as my brother and sister-in-law, whose fridge is probably 3/4 condiments, but I definitely have issues.  It’s that vinegary sweetie goodness that jazzes up any remotely plain meal and just makes it hum.  I love Indian food – not for the creamy curries or fluffy flaky fresh breads, but for those condiment platters.  Spoon please.
Before I continue, and give you promised recipe, I need to make a slight detour.
You’ll thank me.  Just trust.  Believe.
I’m going to let you in on one of my greatest combination discoveries.  It’s a little out there, but it works.  Or at least I think it does; let me know what you think.  Ready?
 plusplus 
plus plus a sprinkle of   equals awesome.
If you didn’t quite get that – carrots, tahini, hummus and pickle/relish sprinkled with a touch of salt.  You MUST have a little of each component on each carrot stick.  Use any kind of pickle/relish, but you’ve gotta have it for the touch of sweetness.  Correct me if I’m wrong.
Onto a recipe……
Roasted Red Pepper Sauce
  • 2 red peppers
  • 1 medjool date, chopped finely
  • 1 1/2T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2T balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 brown onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3T water
  • 1/4t dry mustard powder
  • 1/2t sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
Gut your peppers and place under grill; same method as here.
Once the peppers are grilled and skinned (so barbaric, gutting, grilling and skinning) chop peppers roughly into chunks, and place in saucepan with all other ingredients, except onion and garlic.
Dice onion and garlic, lightly saute in fry pan under fragrant and soft but do not brown.
Add onion and garlic to saucepan with other ingredients; bring to the boil and simmer until almost all of the liquid has been absorbed.
Let the mix cool down (no food processor explosions thank you very much; I have been on the receiving end of one, and it was NOT pretty).  Process until smooth in a food processor or blender.  Makes around 3/4C.
This sauce is delicious.  It’s kind of like the capsicum version of a tomato ketchup; sweet and vinegary.  The addition of some Italian herbs would be great.  It would make a kick ass pizza sauce base.  It’s nice to make something WITHOUT a truckload of sugar (ahem, ketchup- I know you’re good, and I want to drink you- but I can do without the sugar hangover, thanks anyway) and realise that you don’t really need it.  The natural sweetness of the capsicum is brought out by the grilling, and the lone date creates the perfect balance with the vinegar and salt.
About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

2 responses to “i feel like i need something else”

  1. Kelly @ Foodie Fiasco says :

    Perfect! Just what I need! I have a pepper I need to use up, and who needs sugary ketchup anyway? And using a date as sweetener? Brilliant!

  2. Hannahnnah says :

    Everything in life needs a bit of pickle relish. Including Mr Darcy. Oh, Mr Darcy….

    And chocolate. Chocolate and pickles and Mr Darcy. Heaven.

Leave a Reply

