breakfast for Misty and me, 2 ways

Breakfast is the best.  It’s the most exciting meal of the day.  I would eat breakfast for every meal if I could (I do sometimes, but Viper tells me off).  Now I have a hungry little monster to feed as well as myself, it’s a lot easier to double up and eat the same.  You can use any grain, any dried fruit, any spice for this recipe – you are limited only by your imagination.  I’m just on the apricot-coconut train after this.  Due to the fact I’m cooking for a littlie; I’m more conscious about what goes into the food I prepare (no added salt, avoiding preservatives etc.)  Particularly with dried fruit, look for varieties that are sulphur free and don’t add sugar.  You can spot the sulphur free apricots from a mile off- they are brown compared to their fluorescent orange sulphuric cousins.  Don’t let this put you off, as their flavour is amazing, almost like caramel.  Deep, dark and deliciously sweet.

  • 1/2t ground cinnamon
  • 1/3C quinoa
  • 1   400ml can coconut cream* or milk
  • 5 organic sulphur-free turkish dried apricots, chopped finely (you can sub in any dried fruit)

 

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan


Bring to the boil, then turn the heat as low as it will go and simmer until most of the liquid is absorbed
Turn of heat, put a lid on saucepan and let the quinoa soak up the rest of the liquid.

 

*Note* If you use coconut cream, the mix will solidify if you chill it (thus being the nature of coconut oil) Just let it come back to room temperature, zap in microwave or reheat on stovetop.

I add a pinch of salt to mine- just brings out the flavour, similar to salting oats.   Top with toasted coconut flakes, nuts, fresh fruit or just eat it as is.  Admittedly, not the most attractive looking dish, but I’m not complaining while I’m eating something rich, sweet and really really good for me.  If you’re complaining about appearances then I’m not sure we can be friends.

Now, if you want to get a little CRAZY with me, try this:

  •   Lightly beat 1 egg to 1 cup of your quinoa mix and add 1/4t baking powder.  If you or your little one isn’t eating eggs yet, sub in a flax ‘egg’ – 1T ground flaxseed, mix in 3T water and left to ‘gel’ for 10 minutes.
  • Spray a pan lightly with oil.  I’m a geek and use a little cookie cutter, so they are all the same size.  Old habits die hard.
  • Cook for about 3 minutes on each side, over a moderate heat.  Top with nut butter, jam, syrup, cream cheese, oh so many choices.
There we have it.  Same breakfast, 2 ways.  Crap picture, but tasty nonetheless.
Mix makes 1 large serving of hot cereal plus 12 cakes (5cm in diameter).
Misty would rather the measuring spoons.  Sure buddy, knock yourself out – all the more for me.
About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

Leave a Reply

