spaghetti and meatballs, balls

I’m kind of getting in the habit of making everything that Misty eats in pattie/bite/ball form.  He’s at that stage where he wants to feed himself and gets angry at me trying to shove a spoon in his mouth.  Alright then buddy, do it yourself- makes my job easier.  Another bonus to serving meals like this is the vegetable-sneaking.  Misty pretty much eats most veges at the moment but I’m sure he’ll go through a stage of rejecting some or all of them.  Serve ’em up a tasty meatball, and they’ll have no idea what veges were blended into it. Sucker.

Spag Bol Balls:

100g organic beef mince

1/2C cooked pasta

2t dried mixed Italian herbs

1 clove garlic, crushed

1T tomato paste

1 medjool date, chopped and softened in 1T boiling water

2 carrots, grated

Freshly ground black pepper

2T rolled oats (or breadcrumbs)

1T grated parmesan (optional)

The key to these little balls is actually overcooking your pasta.  The extra starch helps them bind together without an egg  (Viper ate the last few for breakfast, thanks dude).

Grate your carrots and place in food processor with garlic, herbs, pepper.  Pulse to get nice and fine.  Add tomato paste, mince, pasta, parmesan (if using) the softened date and water (I know this sounds weird but it’s for a touch of sweetness to offset the tomato; it works- trust me).

Pulse until a meaty paste is formed.  Add the rolled oats to dry up the mix a bit.

Wet hands, roll mixture into balls.  My oven is broken, so I pan fried these in batches of 8, in a fry pan lightly misted with olive oil spray.  I kind of just rolled them round the pan for about 5minutes until they were nicely browned.  The mix is quite soft, and the balls only firm up slightly on cooking- baking in a moderate oven for about 10-15 minutes (turning a few times) would be easier.

Viper stole some.  Viper approves.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

2 responses to “spaghetti and meatballs, balls”

  1. Hannah says :

    Would you believe I’ve never had spaghetti and meatballs? Even spag bol was rare in our family, on account of my mum’s allergies to beef, tomato, wheat, and dairy… she could pretty much have the onion and carrot in spag bol 😛

    • Lou says :

      Wow, your Mum got dealt a harsh hand in the allergy-game! I ate meat while I was pregnant (after being vego for 10 years) and the one meal I CRAVED was spaghetti and meatballs. I actually reverted back to all the meals my Mum would cook us as kids- I was constantly ringing her up asking for particular recipes. I said I was feeding my “inner child” quite literally! Now meat grosses me out once again.

Leave a Reply

