I grate soap

I’m a cheapskate.

I know it, and I’m not afraid to admit it.

I actually do grate soap; Viper thinks I’m a nutter.  I grate goat’s milk soap and use it with baking soda, white vinegar and tea tree oil to wash my clothes and Misty’s nappies etc.  This little habit is not entirely a money saving one; I have super sensitive skin, and any kind of washing powder causes me to break out in eczema.  It’s just a bonus the process is environmentally and budget-conscious.

I love a good bargain; most of my shopping is done at opp shops (thrift stores).  I get a buzz off scoring something for a few measly bucks… it’s an addiction (one that is cheaper and healthier than crack).  I’m sure my family and friends are sick of me saying, “and it was only $3!!” after they comment on some article of clothing or trinket.  That’s why I’m a fridge scraper, I’m cheap.  I think it’s part and parcel of my OCD; must get things cheaper, squirrel away savings for a rainy day that never comes.

Complete opposite of Viper.  Let’s not go into that.  I’ll just get mad.

While I scrimp and save, Viper buys records.  The collection is this times 5 and growing.

Really though, I can’t complain too loudly; now we are parents (with no family nearby) we can’t go out to gigs anymore… no babysitters.

These days, it’s all about hanging out at home.  Once Misty goes to bed, it’s our own music, our own beverages, at home.  It’s actually really good.  No crappy music;  we are the DJs (with a pretty kick ass collection at our finger tips).  No annoying drunk bogans breathing beer fumes and ciggie smoke in my face as they try and strike up a conversation that I do NOT want to be a part of.  Best thing (again, I’m cheap) no watered down $8 drinks.  I’m the bartender. Yeah.

The only thing I’m not stingy about is food.  As Viper says, some girls buy shoes, I buy food.  I have no problem spending on good food; as I have said before, Michael Pollan’s theory of buy better, eat less is one I adhere to.  Forking out the bucks on a small amount of organic meat, eggs and local (not farmed) seafood is no skin off my nose.  It tastes better, is better for my family, and at least the creatures that have been sacrificed to fill our bellies have had some form of decent life beforehand.  So maybe I wear out my undies until the elastic snaps (gross; mmm saggy) and some (all) of my cardigans have holes in the elbows but at least we eat well and are healthy.

All in all, becoming parents has been a good kick in the bum to be sensible about spending.  Basically we can’t go out and party like we used to, so we have adjusted into our new roles by altering our activities to suit.  We can still enjoy a nice drink on a lovely spring evening, listening to cranking tunes in a cosy environment… we just don’t have to leave the house to do it any more, and that’s OK with me.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. no hat required « fridge scrapings - November 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

