Take the heat off myself, put in curry

It’s not always a competition.  Something I must remember.  Why oh why do I have to always go one better?  Been there, done that –   I hear myself do it all the time, it’s not attractive.  I annoy myself.  I think it’s my perfectionist tendencies, as somehow in my warped mind, not having experienced something first is a sign of weakness.  Go figure.

At least this does not translate through to Misty – I really get that whole ‘don’t compare babies,’ thing – each one is so different, and however much you want to rant on about how yours is the cutest, smartest, can walk/talk/say dodecahedron – there are another gazillion little maggots out there doing very similar things.  Extreme parental pride can be a very scary thing – I reckon Misty is awesome but I highly doubt he’s going to be a nobel peace prize winner, or discover the cure to cancer.  If he does, that’s great, but the probability of that is slim to none.  As long as he turns out to be a good person, and is happy, then I have done an alright job.

Watch out, here he comes.

My thought of the day is to lower expectations.  Of myself mainly.  I had none for this curry, and it turned out delicious – maybe I just need to turn down the old pressure-on-self valve and cruise a bit more.

 Expectation-less Eggplant Curry

2 eggplants cut into 2.5cm rounds, salted and left for 2 hours to draw moisture out.

4 small brown onions chopped

6 dates, chopped

1 tin chopped tomatoes

3T tomato paste

3 garlic cloves finely sliced

2 bay leaves

1C water

Freshly ground black pepper

1T sea salt

Coconut oil

Spice mix:

1T ground ginger

1T ground cumin

1T curry powder

1t garam marsala

1t garlic powder

1t onion powder

1/2t chilli flakes

Toast spice mix in a dry skillet until fragrant and set aside.

Pat eggplant dry with paper towel.  Cut into cm squares.  Heat coconut oil in large pan, saute onion and garlic, do not brown.  Add spice mix and cook for a further few minutes.  Add dates, tomato paste, chopped tomatoes, salt and bay leaves, bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.  Simmer gently for 40 minutes, or as long as you can, adding water  as the mix reduces.  Alternatively make in a slow cooker if you can’t be bothered tending to it – just cook off spices, onions, garlic etc, add eggplant and simmer a few minutes until soft.  Then chuck it in slow cooker with liquid.

Coconut quinoa:

1C quinoa

1C coconut milk

1C vegetable broth

Rinse quinoa, add broth and milk.  Bring to the boil and then simmer gently until all liquid has been absorbed.

Taste curry before serving – adjust seasonings, grind over black pepper, serve with coconut quinoa and…

Pea Raita:

1/2C plain thick yoghurt

1/4C fresh coriander, finely chopped

1/4C fresh mint, finely chopped

1 small garlic clove, crushed

1/4t sea salt

1/2C peas (frozen is A-OK)

2t sweet chilli sauce

Freshly ground black pepper

Mix all ingredients together, chill in fridge until ready to serve.

                                                                                             

While I cook, Misty raids the pantry.  Think you could have got something better than a potato, dude.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

Leave a Reply

