Misty the meaty boy

Even though I am a somewhat vego (I eat fish- if they are not farmed as food it’s a little easier for my conscience to process) I have no problems cooking meat for others.  Some non-meat eaters get freaked out by preparing and cooking meat – I actually quite enjoy it.  Ironically, dealing with fish freaks me out.  Particularly shell fish; yes they are delicious, but it’s all that picking meat out of legs and extracting poo-tubes that gets to me.  Viper reckons it stirs up his primal cave-man juices, hunting out those tasty fleshy bits… ick.

Anyway, I’ll let Misty make his own decisions in regard to his diet when he is able to.  Right now though, he is a growing boy and he needs MEAT.  For the meat eating men of the house I go by the ‘buy better, eat less’ train of thought.  We buy organic, free range chicken and beef (Viper has chicken in his lunches and makes the odd hamburger pattie or spag bol).  Dinners are pretty much always vegetarian/vegan apart from 1-2 nights a week when we eat the fishies.

Beefcakes for Bubs:

100g organic beef mince

1/4C grain  (leftover cooked rice, rolled oats, cooked quinoa/millet/cous cous/pasta, breadcrumbs whatever you have on hand)

I used organic rolled oats and bourghal

1T nutritional yeast (not essential I just add it for a bit more flavour)

2t dried or fresh herbs (I used basil and oregano)

1/2C cooked vegetables (I used sweet potatoes and peas) Do the fridge scrape, starchy veges work really well.

2T grated cheese

Freshly ground black pepper

1 egg

Oil/butter for greasing

Process mince, cooked vegetables, grains of choice and everything else in a food processor (keep in a few chunks, it doesn’t need to be a smooth paste at all).  Let mix chill in the fridge for awhile to solidify up a bit – depending on the grain you used, you may need to add a bit more if the mix seems sloppy.  Breadcrumbs are always good in this situation (just whizz up a piece of bread in the food processor).

Make into patties/balls whatever shape appeals and cook in a lightly greased frypan (I use coconut oil)

I made patties and cooked for about 3minutes on each side over a moderate heat.

 

 

While Mum cooks….

Must get in cupboard, must find dangerous sharp goods and various poisons.

After a style change, Misty returns to find my attempt at baby-proofing.  Sucker.

Stop playing in the kitchen and eat your patties, boy!

Yummo.  Think he digs the meaty goodness.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

Leave a Reply

