Creamy is better than dreamy

Weird dreams last night.  Was playing trumpet in a concert and my trumpet was broken AND I couldn’t play my solo.  Felt highly embarassed on waking until I realised I haven’t played the trumpet in almost 10 years.  Was similar to my reaccuring dream (and this pops up on a fortnightly basis) that I’m in my last year of high school, my final exams are in a few days and I have done no work all year and no study.  Every time I have this dream I wake up so stressed out – I think it has something to do with the fact that I finished school 10 years ago, and haven’t really done much since.  Career? Achievements? Financial stability?  I think I’m going to go back to bed…..

Viper has a reacurring dream about evil spider monkeys on the ceiling.  He gets it about once a year and it fully freaks him out – to the extent of him leaping out of the bed yelling about devil monkeys.

Misty’s worst nightmare would be something like a worldwide shortage of milk and rusks.

Boosty dreams of bones and other dog’s bums.  Sniffing.  Digging.  Licking.

Fish for Dinner……..

 

Creamy Avacado-Slaw

2 medium zuccinnis, grated and squeezed of liquid

1/4C crumbled feta

6 sun dried tomatoes, roughly chopped

2T chopped fresh herbs (parsley, basil or coriander would all be delicious)

Dressing:

1 avacado

2T lemon juice

1 clove crushed garlic

Sea salt

1T water to thin

Freshly ground black pepper

Chilli flakes to sprinkle

Blend all ingredients in food processor except chilli flakes.  Combine dressing with zuccinni, cheese, herbs and tomatoes.  Season to taste and sprinkle with chilli flakes.

2 salmon steaks

2t miso paste

2t sweet chilli sauce

Mix miso and sweet chilli.  Slather on steaks and cook for about 8 minutes, depending on size and thickness of fish (we did them on the bbq)  Finish under the grill for a few minutes to get a nice crispy crust. Serves 2.



Seriously, salmon is the most amazing fish.  So freakin’ delicious.  This new salty miso topping is pretty awesome too (Viper and myself eat this meal a lot, but we continue to experiment with the flavours we whack on the top of the salmon).  Next time it’s my turn; the miso was his idea, and I admit it was a cracker.  Can totally vouch that this meal was dream-worthy and not the creepy spider monkey variety.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. smokin’ salmon struggles « fridge scrapings - November 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

