bite me, chico baby, bite me

I think Misty has problems.  Not only does he think biting me is hilarious, he has now turned his hand (or sticky fingers) to pinching, yes, pinching.  Not quite as bad as biting with those sharp little flesh tearing spikes, but painful nonetheless.  He even bit his Grandmother while we were in Sydney (not my Mum, my MIL) she was not impressed.  It hurts.  He thinks it’s a riot.

On the subject of babies (nice sweet, non violent babies) I have a lot of baby oil hanging around my house.  What do you do with 5 bottles of the stuff?  Misty is 12 months old now, and I think I’ve used baby oil 3 times.  I once poured some into the bath, immediately regretting my actions as not only did I have a wet wriggly baby, but a super oiled up slippery wet wriggly baby.  Not a smart idea.

I tried to use it as a massage oil, but I find liquid oils annoying.  They go everywhere and don’t seem to soak into the skin very quickly.

What to do?

Make some lotion out of it, that’s what.

First up, if you could have any flavour of baby, I would have to go for a chocolate one.  Viper loves chocolate covered Jelly Babies, they are a particular favourite.

I’m really not a fan of the Chico Baby though… the concept is good but the execution not so much.   I was only introduced to them recently; a crazy Aussie thing I suppose.  Just not my thing.  Stick to the fruity flavours, and dip them in chocolate, not a chocolate flavoured jelly. Ew.

                     

Anyway, getting off subject.

  • I infused half a cup of baby oil with 1/8C cacao nibs and 2t cacao powder.  Just chuck the whole lot together in a jar, and leave it for a week, shaking every few days.
  • After a week or so, strain the oil through cheesecloth, squeezing out as much of the chocolatey oil as you can (you will lose a little of the oil, so you end up with about 1/3C)
  • In a small saucepan combine the oil with an equal quantity of grated beeswax, and 1/8t baking soda.
  • Gently heat until beeswax melts, and pour it straight into a jar.

You are limited by your imagination to what flavours you could infuse into the oil – I’ve done vanilla pods, pineapple (chunks of dried) and fresh ginger, mint and lemon.

I find a massage lotion a lot more user friendly, and the chocolate smells so good I might want to bite a chunk out of Misty instead of the other way round.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

8 responses to “bite me, chico baby, bite me”

  1. Hannah says :

    Oh gosh, yes, disgusting. I hate anything chocolate-flavoured, and that goes for most desserts too. Chicos are devil spawn. Like oranges.

    • Lou says :

      I don’t understand how Chicos can be a product on the shelf. WHO BUYS THEM?!

      ick.

      and any lolly that is green is GROSS. either fake lime, apple or mint. WRONG.

  2. lindsay says :

    i am constantly impressed by your homemaking tactics. Teach me your ways! Well, not the baby making ways. hehe.

    • Lou says :

      Yeah, I’ll leave the baby making up to you and the hubby ;)

      My trick is to get bored, get a crazy idea and then make a whole lotta mess in my kitchen while Misty bashes on pots and pans, and pulls everything out of my pantry. Chaotic, but fun :)

  3. Emmy (Wine and Butter) says :

    Wow! You make absolutely everything its true! Im terrible with any lotions or oils that smell good… no self control! Once I drank the equiv of half a glass of listerine after getting carried away about how good it smelled!

    • Lou says :

      I’m guilty of sculling listerine too, don’t worry. I love that burny feeling in my mouth :) I think my problem is I can’t stand throwing perfectly good stuff out (bottles of baby oil) so I just have to find an alternative use for them. It’s a good creative challenge anyhow :)

  4. Christin@purplebirdblog says :

    Mmmmmm I can practically smell that lotion… divinity!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

