up to all sorts

It’s been so great discovering this little world of healthy food enthusiasts… it’s really inspired my kitchen creations.  I used to get in a lot of ‘food ruts’ – eating the same sort of things day in, day out.

BORING.

Nowadays, I get so excited to create new recipes, or try other blogger’s recipes.

Actually, reading blogs of any description has really got my creativity cranking.  I’m having so much fun just making STUFF.  For some reason, I have a lot more focus these days.  Maybe it’s because the time I have to get a little project completed is usually pretty short.  Either when Misty’s sleeping or after dinner is about it… not like ‘back in the day’ before child where I just had too much time on my hands to know what to do with.

I made this washable snack bag as I am so sick of using plastic snap lock bags for Misty’s snacks when we are out and about.  So much plastic.  This is great as it is a light vinyl-you can wipe it out, or chuck it through the washing machine.

I can’t help defacing things, even with a sewing machine.  Angry apple.

I’m always wanting new and different non dairy milk ideas… I’ve made home made almond, coconut and brown rice milks.  They were all good, but not great if you know what I mean.  Store bought almond milk is not that flash here down under, and it’s super expensive so not really worth it.  Home made coconut milk is good for cooking, but not so tasty in coffee or tea (which I drink a LOT of).  I actually mix my home made coconut milk with Dr Bronner’s amazing soap and use it as shampoo.  It really is wicked knickers stuff.

I stumbled across the idea of tahini milk while reading Gena’s blog.  Awesome.  Tahini is one of my favourite things, and I love mixing it into soy milk with a touch of agave and cinnamon already.  I whipped up the recipe and it was love at first sip.  Great on it’s own, or over cereal.

I had about a half cup of this recipe left over (the barley)  I chucked it in the freezer, not wanting to waste it.  After returning from Sydney to an empty fridge, I pulled it out to feed my hungry beast.  I was being a lazy Mama and didn’t want to spoon feed it to Misty, and was bored so I decided to bake it into something.

Baked Barley Fridge Scrape:

  • 1/2C this recipe
  • 1T ground flax seed mixed with 3T water to make a flax egg
  • 1/8t baking soda
  • 1/16t baking powder
  • 5t coconut flour (I reckon chickpea flour would work well too, the texture might be a little different, but would be good)
  1. Combine all ingredients.
  2. Spoon into a lined baking tray (a mini muffin pan would be great but I don’t have one, so I used a tiny loaf pan – 10cm in length)
  3. Bake for 30 minutes at 170 degrees C.
  4. Turn off oven, take the bake out of the pan and flip onto a cooling rack upside down.
  5. Put back into oven (which is turned off) and let the bottom dry out a bit until the oven had cooled down completely.

Seemed to go down a treat.  Fruit, flaxy and easy to hang on to – no Mama spoony needed.

Anything new/creative/fun you’ve made or discovered recently?

Tags: , ,

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

6 responses to “up to all sorts”

  1. Ami @ parsnipsandpears says :

    that snack bag is so cute! I bought a bunch like that at a local craft fair last year and use them to even wrap my husbands sandwiches (I have varying sizes of them).

    I love that you just threw the leftovers in the oven to bake…. very clever. I often don’t feel like spooning Holden his food and am always trying to figure out clever ways to make anything and everything easy for him to eat himself!!

    • Lou says :

      Yeah, spoon feeding gets tedious after a while, and I find Misty gets frustrated with me shoving a spoon at him. Loaves, patties, balls and bakes are my savours! :)

  2. Hannah says :

    Yay yay yay! I love getting new uses for coconut flour! I still mostly use mine to make that “coconut cream” concoction :)

    • Lou says :

      Have you tried my ‘edible play dough’ recipe with coconut flour?!? I made some the other day with a pinch of spirilina so it was GREEN. Feeding my inner child quite literally.

  3. Christin@purplebirdblog says :

    Heheheheheh the angry apple face is too freakin’ cute!!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

