party on

So this was what I created for Misty’s birthday… I really really loved it.  I got teased yes, maybe because I decorated with spinach leaves, blueberries and plastic babies but that’s just me.  If you are just making the ‘cake’ it’s super quick and easy.  Wham, bam, thanks for the cake mam.

Birthday Cake
(vegan, gluten free, nut free)
  • 1/4C coconut flour
  • 3/4C brown rice flour
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1/4t baking powder
  • 10 drops liquid stevia
  • 2T cacao powder
  • 1/8t salt
  • 1/4C + 2Tnon dairy milk
  • 1 1/2t lime juice
  • 2 bananas, mashed with a fork.
  1. Combine all ingredients, place in a lined loaf tin (or whatever shape you like, my loaf tin is 20cm in length- you can chop this into bars)
  2. Bake for 12-15 minutes at 170 degrees C, or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.  (If you under cook it, it’s like a gooey brownie)

I cut the cake (it’s not really a cakey texture, more dense and ‘bar’ like but let’s just call it a cake) in half, and spread with Cho-fu chocolate pudding.  I  stacked one half on top of the other and covered with the remaining pudding.  Decorations: plastic babies optional.

If I wasn’t going to frost it, I’d make some of this, chop into chunks and fold through the mix before baking.  The chunks stay kind of gooey, so it’s like ‘fresh outta the oven melty chocolate’ every time.  Awesome.  The plain cake (sans chunks or frosting) is Misty’s favourite breakfast, served with plain yoghurt (a fav of mine too).

We kind of went with a theme of “SnugglePot and CuddlePie” for the party – for those of you outside of Australia, these little characters are an Australiana type thing, based on a children’s story book by May Gibbs written in the 1920s.

These are gum-nut babies… there is one boy and a girl – we thought it a fitting theme as Misty and Mopsy were born on the same day.

I actually found some retro Cuddlepot and SnugglePie fabric at a thrift store, with all of the illustrations on a cotton drill type material.  I made Mopsy a patchwork blankie for her birthday out of it – forgot to take a photo though, doh.

The babies live in the gum nuts from the Eucalyptus tree.  The illustrations are inspired by the native bush lands in Western Australia where May Gibbs played as a young child.

Think the cake went down ok.  Not sure what happened to all the plastic babies. Hmm.

Misty actually fell asleep and snoozed right the way through the ‘cake bit’ – I think he has inherited his Mama’s partying style – go too hard, too early on, and end up sleeping through all the good bits. Hmmm.  Don’t peak too early.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

10 responses to “party on”

  1. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Oh my gosh….that cake…I swoon! :-D It looks amazing! <3 I love that you decorated it with spinach, lol! So cute and fun! I love the sound of a dense texture – that's right up my street :-)
    Hope your little man; party was wonderful! <3 Happy (belated) birthday Misty! xyx

    • Lou says :

      We had a great first birthday for Misty – me and Viper even got the night off after the party – we got to have a little “date” night! Doesn’t happen very often so was fun to be out on our own for once :) ended up missing Misty after about an hour though, ha :)

  2. Crafty Earth Mama says :

    That’s the cutest, quirkiest cake I’ve ever seen! I like it and I will take that any day over those grocery store, red dye, mass produced type cakes any day :)

    • Lou says :

      Hehe, thanks! Yeah, got a few weird looks from people… but this cake disappeared before any of the other supermarket-bought treats (score!)

  3. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    I love this Lou and totally stand behind your choice of cake decor. :)

    Have all the ingredients to make this. Many thanks, and I hope you and the fam. have a great weekend!

    • Lou says :

      It’s Yummo! Babies really seem to like it… have given it to quite a few littlies around Misty’s age and they all really dig it (which is the main thing)
      Hope you guys had a lovely Thanksgiving :)

  4. Hannah says :

    *dances wildly around the room* Oh how I love Snugglepot and Cuddlepie! Such a huge part of my childhood, and I even now have a skirt that makes me feel like Little Ragged Blossom :)

    • Lou says :

      They are so so cute… never heard of them until recently – Viper has been introducing me to all his childhood staples – The Magic Pudding etc, so fun! I love all the beautiful Aussie native flora :)

  5. Kimberly says :

    That little baby cake is adorable! And it looks yummy too :)

    • Lou says :

      It was yummy! Always good to get something relatively healthy into the kiddies at a birthday party… don’t have to deal with the sugar come-down that way. Misty loves to chew on the plastic babies too :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

