fruit overload

I eat a lot of fruit.  A lot.  Perhaps a little too much?  How much is too much?  I don’t care, I love the stuff.  Today I had an apple, a pear, 2 bananas, 6 prunes, and sculled a bunch of the fruity beverage featured below.  That’s a pretty normal fruit day.  Viper hardly ever eats fruit.  I don’t get it; I don’t feel right if I don’t get in at least a couple pieces of fresh fruit a day.  Misty is working on a couple of chompers at the moment, so apart from the grizzlies, he is off his usual solid fare.  Bring on the smoothies – he is guzzling back a tasty combo of banana, pineapple and coconut milk as I type.  Chunks of frozen watermelon seems to be helping those sore gums too.

My thing is pineapple at the minute.  Oh yes, we have entered the pineapple-kick territory.  As the pattern goes with my fruit consumption, I tend to go too hard, too fast.  I get excited and go overboard.  With pineapple in particular, this can have horrible results.  Enter the sliced and diced mouth and tongue.  Those tasty fibres are sharp.  I have found blending it up helps this problem, and opens up a new world for pineapple creativity without the bleeding mouth.

I made this for Misty and me the other day… and am now looking at other ways to use up copious amounts of pineapple juice and puree I have hanging around.

The beauty of these recipes are that canned pineapple if just fine to use if you don’t have access to tropical fruit as I do… just try to use the varieties that don’t contain added sugar.

 Photo from week in Sydney… this was at an amazing water front cafe called the Boathouse at Palm Beach (for those in the know, near where ‘Home and Away’ is filmed.  No, I didn’t run into Alf… ‘stone the flamin’ crows!)

Use for Juice:

Pineapple and Mint Kombucha

I’m totally digging home brew Kombucha… so delicious and ridiculously easy once you have the appropriate fungi.  Thanks to Kaitlyn from The Tie Dye Files for the how-to guide.

  • 1/2C pineapple juice
  • 2t lime juice
  • 1 litre of brewed Kombucha
  • Handful fresh mint
Combine all ingredients and store in the fridge.

Purpose for Puree:

Pineapple Fluff Sprinkle

I use this sprinkle to add texture to things like tofu pudding, yoghurt, ice cream or oatmeal/cereal combos.  Love the crunch of buckwheat, and the coconut flour is so good when it soaks into any kind of liquid.  You could use any kind of fruit puree if pineapple is not your thing – apple, mango, peach, pear, apricot.  All good.

  • Pineapple puree (225g pineapple blended with 1/4C water)
  • 1C raw buckwheat groats
  • 1/2C coconut flour
  • 1/4t sea salt
  • 2t coconut oil, melted
  • 1-2T liquid sweetener, depending on your sweetie preference (I used apple juice syrup concentrate –  agave, rice syrup, even maple would all be fine)

Combine all ingredients, either place in a dehydrator or do what I did and spread on a lined baking tray for 1 hour at 120 degrees C.  Lower to 100 degrees C for another 30 minutes.  Turn off oven, leaving tray inside until it has cooled down completely.

Pineapple Fluff Sprinkle with toasted pepitas and Green Monster Tofu Pudding (recipe coming).  Crap picture as this was a night time snack, and there is no light.

Fruit consumption?  Big, non existent or in between?  Fresh/dried/canned frozen?  Fruity thoughts?

Tags: , , , ,

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

8 responses to “fruit overload”

  1. Ami @ parsnipsandpears says :

    I def eat a lot of fruit. Probably twice as much as veggies :s. I figure eating fruit instead of veggies is better than some alternatives though. Holden has adopted my love of fruit too… in the summer, when berries and peaches are in season here, it can get quite dangerous.

    I have been wanting to try my hand at homemade kombucha for a while now, but I haven’t braved it yet.

  2. Lou says :

    Dude, you should totally try kombucha-brewing at home, it’s so easy once you have your scoby (check out the tie dye files, Kaitlyn shows you how to do it all!) So yummy, even though the scoby is kinda like a creepy alien :)

    mmmm berries and peaches (plus all stone fruit) so so delicious – Misty has adopted my super fruit-eating habits too – nothing wrong with that!

  3. Brittany says :

    It’s NEVER too much when it comes to fruit!!!!! I LOVE a lot of fruit too. I think my veggie intake is much more than my fruit though.

    • Lou says :

      My fruit consumption totally out weighs my vegetable…. but I eat a LOT of veges too (particularly carrots, mmmm orange) Fruit and Veg are just awesome, amazing what Mother Nature gives us :)

  4. Hannah says :

    I’m like Viper; I eat almost no fruit, but tend to overdose on vegetables. One of the reasons I got the Vita-Mix was to start making smoothies and actually eat some fruit! It worked… until it was freezing winter and I stopped. I do, however, adore summer fruits like plums so will be getting back into the action soon. And I’m enamoured with pinepple, so that “fluff” recipe of yours looks incredible!

    • Lou says :

      Wow, non fruit eaters fascinate me…. probably because I eat so much fruit, I can’t understand those who don’t. I think nutritionally speaking, vegetables have the majority of important nutrients, so fruit isn’t that necessary for a balanced diet. ooooo you lucky duck, I would LOVE a vita mix!! The fluff is good, actually anything that involves coconut flour is magical :)

  5. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    WOW! That pineapple fluff looks AMAZING! What a yummy bowl of deliciousness! Me too – I’m a big druit fan. Love the stuff. Big time. I eat several bananas and apples every day – probably three of each – plus blueberries and goji berries. Yum! Fruit is so energy packed and enlivening and fresh and nutritious – one of my favourite foods ever. Mangoes and dates and pineapple are gorgeous too – I normally only eat tropical fruit when I’m abroad cause it’s so expensive here. I love frozen mango, and frozen grapes for snacks too – lovely! You can puree (frozen) mango and banana and pineapple through a juicer and it comes out like mr. whippy ice cream – I had so much of it in Thailand and it was HEAVEN! :-) xyx

    • Lou says :

      Yip, fruit rocks. Love fruity “soft serve” – I just had a huge bowl of frozen banana+ spirilina soft serve for breakfast with some of Misty’s birthday cake :) oooooo yeah, twas good.
      I would buy a whole pineapple everyday in Thailand, love how you could get it all chopped up, and in a bag with a toothpick for less than a dollar! Amazing, so fresh and delicious. Me, my tropical fruit, and a hammock, bliss :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

