barley isn’t boring… i’m talking to you, Viper

I’ll be back in action from tomorrow – heading on home (back to my glorious kitchen, hooray!)  This is a recipe I tried out last week.  Lots to fill you all in on – much inspiration from a different city’s sights, sounds and delicious treats.
I think sometimes people forget about barley.  When I make something with it and serve it to Viper, he says, ‘oh, it’s that stuff at the bottom of vegetable soup.’ Or ‘it tastes like porridge.’  Hmmm.  There’s something so comforting to me about the smell of barley cooking.  I used to make so many dishes with it, but lately, I myself have been guilty of favouring the perhaps more glamorous grains.
It’s got such a great nutty flavour, and apparently is really good for the immune system – so all you people heading into Winter, you should totally be getting into your barley, it could save you from the evil colds and flu that otherwise await you.
Beach Boy Barley: (for Misty and Me, and then some)
(vegan… barley does contain a small amount of gluten so watch out)
  • 1/4C barley (pearl)
  • 1 coconut milk
  • 3/4C pureed pineapple (canned is fine, just look for one with no added sugar)
  • Pinch sea salt
  1. Combine ingredients in a small saucepan.
  2. Bring to the boil, and reduce to a simmer, stirring every now and again.
  3. Wait until almost all of the liquid has been absorbed (maybe 20-30 minutes) turn off heat, pop a lid on the pan, and let the barley soak up the rest.
  4. Puree in a food processor.
Serve with these to scoop up the goop…
Coconut Banana ‘Chips’
  • 2 bananas, each sliced into about 6 pieces diagonally
  • 2t coconut flour (dessicated coconut would work too, but coconut flour is just magic)
  • 3t agave
  • 2T water
  • Squeeze of lime juice
  1. Mix agave, water, lemon and coconut in a bowl.
  2. Toss banana through, coating well.
  3. Heat a fry pan with a little coconut oil, cooked slices of banana for a couple of minutes each side until golden brown.
  4. Let cool a little before serving (they are actually really good if you chuck them in the fridge so they harden up even more – we did that today as it was so hot outside, I couldn’t handle the thought of eating warm food).
The barley will solidify a lot if you chill it down too much, so enjoy it warm (or room temperature as me and Misty did).  If you do store it in the fridge, make sure to add some more liquid when you reheat it.
Not so glamorous.
About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

10 responses to “barley isn’t boring… i’m talking to you, Viper”

  1. Emmy (Wine and Butter) says :

    Ive never cooked with barley – BUT I do have a food processoer/ blender now – yipeeeeeeee!!!

  2. Lou says :

    barley is awesome… so nutty and earthy. Same cooking time as brown rice, but a little chewier and I find it more substantial. HOOOOORAY for food processor fun :)

  3. Christin@purplebirdblog says :

    My mom made an awesome beef barley stew growing up, but now that I’m mostly avoiding gluten I don’t eat it anymore. It’s a shame because that stew was fantastic! :)

    • Lou says :

      mmm barley in stew makes for such a hearty meal (although I avoid the beef these days, it’s great with veges) bummer on the gluten front, but I’m sure your gut thanks you for not eating it :)

  4. lindsay says :

    hehe, too cute. I haven’t had barely in years because its gluten. I miss its nutty texture. I agree with Christin, it would be awesome in a stew. But your recipe of course would top that! ;)

  5. Ami @ parsnipsandpears says :

    mmm i love the sound of this… I have never tried barley with sweet stuff, but I like the idea!! Def trying this out for Holden and I this week!!

    • Lou says :

      I love the fact your little one’s name is Holden…. it’s the name of an Australian car.. such a great name! Barley is awesome sweet as it has such a nice nutty flavour to begin with – works a treat! :)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. fruit overload « fridge scrapings - November 24, 2011
  2. up to all sorts « fridge scrapings - November 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

