sorta socca, and less sleep

My favourite thing in the world used to be sleeping.  I would literally go to bed at about 7pm every night, and snooze my way through to at least 7 in the morning.  I would get up, eat my breakfast, and if it was the weekend, I would sometimes go back to bed for a mid morning nap (because I must have been exhausted).
Maybe this should be the subject for a DMC? (no, not Devastating Mic Control, gotta love Run DMC) but a Deep and Meaningful Chat.  With Misty’s first birthday only a few days away, I have been doing a bit (ok, a lot) of reflection on the past 12 months, and how much I have grown and changed.
These days, I don’t need as much sleep (I’m getting to bed by 10pm, and getting up at 4am!) maybe I’ve just adjusted to the broken sleep –  getting up and down, and up and down throughout the night – either to sooth Misty or just to check (can’t resist, sleeping babes are just too cute).  Or maybe I don’t want to sleep as much any more – I’ve got a reason to be awake.  I actually got to bed excited about waking up.  I haven’t felt like this since I was probably 7 years old.  I’ll tell you something, Misty is the best anti-depressant I’ve ever come across – sleeping just isn’t as tempting any more, I’d rather be hanging with Misty than sleeping my life away.
Wish I could snooze somewhere this groovy.
Anyway, enough emotional stuff – this was one of those ‘panic’ meals.  Driving home after an afternoon out and about, knowing that Misty would be wanting feeding and watering pretty close to quick smart as soon as we got in the door.  Nothing prepared.  Bad, bad Mama.
The usual equation went through my head – what do I have in the fridge/pantry that I can combine that involves fat, protein and carbs easily and quickly?
What will Misty actually eat?
This sorta-socca turned out really well for a 2 second-throw-together-on-a-whim meal.  Misty ate two and a half by himself, and I sampled the remaining half for quality purposes.  You could easily sneak in vegetables to the mix; the cheese helps everything stick together, and it gets all delicious and crispy like.  They actually reminded me of a parmesan wafer in a way, albeit much thicker and heartier.  Awesome for using up those last little dregs of cooked grains you have hanging around – rice, millet, quinoa, whatever you have.  Go on, scrape that fridge.   What I would give to scrape a fridge like this: (Is it weird I have fridge fantasies?)
Sorta-Socca:
(Gluten, soy, egg, nut free.  Could be made vegan by subbing in vegan cheese and using oil)
  • 1/4C cooked grain (I used barley)
  • 1/4C chickpea flour
  • 1/4C grated cheese (I used mozzarella)
  • 3T water
  • 1t olive oil/melted butter
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1/2t mixed dried herbs
  • Butter/oil for pan
Mix all ingredients together.  Set aside for 15 minutes.
Heat some butter or oil in a pan.  I got 3 medium sized socca from the mix – I cooked each one individually, making sure as I spooned the batter into the pan, I spread it out thinly.
Cook for a few minutes each side, squishing down with the back of the spatula to help flatten and crisp up…. it’s also fun to watch the cheese bubble up and ooze.
Cool before serving for the little ones that could burn themselves.  I burnt myself. I highly recommend serving with a touch of Vegemite (or Marmite for Lindsay and Heather of course)
X marks the spot.  A spot of deliciousness.
Tags: , ,

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

18 responses to “sorta socca, and less sleep”

  1. Angela @ Vegangela.com says :

    I really need to get on the socca-wagon! I have a tonne of chickpea flour to use-up too!

  2. Lou says :

    I never had much luck with the traditional socca recipes… not sure why but they never turned out too flash – this one works really well, and can be done with vegan cheese, yummo. If you want something sweet+ tasty to make with chickpea flour, try the Apricot Cashew Cookie balls on my recipe page, oh yes, they are addictive :)

  3. Jennie (the gf-gf) says :

    I have that exact fridge fantasy! Except in bright red :-) Ah, I love those retro fridges …

  4. elise says :

    that looks lie a mac ‘n cheese pancake patty thing. aka amaxing.

  5. elise says :

    *like* (not lie)

    • Lou says :

      Yip, cheesy goodness in pancakey-form is always good! Misty loved it… wish we could get decent vegan cheese over in these parts, the kinds you get here are very average – not real melt factor which is key. Boo.

  6. Johanna GGG says :

    never had socca but have wanted it – love your variation – all my favourite things

    • Lou says :

      This is the best version I’ve made… never had much luck with the traditional recipes for some reason… cheese always helps any recipe :)

  7. lindsay says :

    oh i’ll eat vegemite too. I am an either or kinda gal. These look perfect too!

    • Lou says :

      same with me – I love both… sometimes Marmite is just a bit too sweet, but i was brought up on the stuff, so it will always have a special place in my yeast spread heart :)

  8. Yolie @ Practising Wellness says :

    Mmmm…kiwi marmite is the BEST! And those look so yum! :-) I know I’ve said it before, but I just love hearing how much motherhood has changed your outlook on life and made you so happy – it makes me happy too, lol! :-P (Your posts..not motherhood…at least not quite yet!) ;-) xyx PS: That is a very early start, you’re inspiring!

    • Lou says :

      It’s amazing how your body adjusts to sleep deprivation… I have so much energy these days, previously I felt like I was wading through concrete every day!
      You’ll make an amazing Mama one day :)
      Do you like Vegemite? I think I prefer it these days, Marmite just seems to sugary to me now I’ve been converted.

  9. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    Must restock the chickpea flour!

  10. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    P.S. Had to come back and comment that I’ve always need a lot of sleep too. Pre-HEABlet I usually slept 9 to 10 hours a night. It’s less these days, especially now that she’s teething, but totally worth it. We’ll catch up on sleep when they’re sleeping until noon in about 13 years or so. :)

    • Lou says :

      Sleep was my FAVOURITE thing ever pre-MIsty… Viper would ring me up and say, stop sleeping, come out, come out! But all that sleep was too sweet. I just like bed… best thing ever is to eat bowls of cereal and read a good book in a cosy bed…. love :)

  11. Christin@purplebirdblog says :

    I am a huge fan of the Marmite too! Can’t get enough lately! To see dear Lindsay off from Austin, we met up yesterday and I made her some peanut butter with Marmite in it! The flavor didn’t come through like I’d hoped, but it was delightfully salty! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

