no mess, no fuss, rusky rusks

I can’t stand the teething rusks that you get from the supermarket.  They are disgusting.  Misty doesn’t even like them; he sort of sucks on one, then abandons it (score for Boosty, who is the only one that seems to like them).  I’m sure they taste OK;  it’s the mess that gets to me –  I deal with a lot of mess in my day, so I wouldn’t say I’m precious about mess.  The rusks just seem to dissolve into this weird tacky paste that Misty enjoys smearing around (usually on me).

Our home made rusks (wuskies as I like to call them… man, I’m turning into one of those sicko baby-talkers, gross) are awesome as they make less mess, Misty seems to like them and woah are they CHEAP to make.  I make the majority of our bread too which cheapens this exercise further, AND I have control over the ingredients that go in – Misty doesn’t need all those additives and weird numbers that seem to pop up everywhere in our food these days.

Rusky Rusks

STEP 1 – Take a piece of bread (whatever you desire or your bub enjoys) Cut off crusts (you can actually make plain rusks with the crusts if you like, just use the same microwave method).

STEP 2 – Spread a teeny tiny bit of vegemite on bread (miso paste works well too)

STEP 3 – Roll up, squeezing the bread so it gets a bit doughy and sticks together.  If your bread is a bit old and stale, pat with a little water – this should stop it cracking.

STEP4 – Microwave for 1 minute.  Flip rusk and microwave again for 1 minute.  Depending on bread (water content) you may have to keep doing this a few more time – basically you want the rusk to go hard.  If they unravel in the microwave, just squeeze them back together and maybe pat again with a little water between bouts of firing, careful HOT.

I really don’t like microwaves, but they are useful for rusk making and coffee re- heating.  Note to self: Don’t microwave for longer than 1 minute at a time because burnt vegemite smells like an ashtray’s asshole.  Now my whole house reeks, it seriously smells like dirty ciggies.

That’s it!  Wuskies for Misty.  He totally digs these, AND they stay together really well. I don’t leave the house without a little bag of these bad boys.   His latest favourite combo is my home made raisin bread with vegemite (just like Mum, mmm salty sweetie).  If you don’t want to do the vegemite thing, plain rolls are good or you can just cut bread into soldiers and microwave until hard.

Yummo.

About Lou

I'm a stay at home Mum, recipe book addict who can't stick to a recipe to save my life.

5 responses to “no mess, no fuss, rusky rusks”

  1. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    Well, that’s easy enough. I know the first thing I’m making when my vegemite arrives…but I’ll definitely be careful and microwave no longer than 1 minute. ;)

  2. Heather Eats Almond Butter says :

    Just tried this using brown rice bread. Worked great but first had to micro bread for 30 seconds to soften enough to roll up and then only nuked another 30 seconds to harden up. We’re going to be out and about today and needed snacks. So easy – thanks! :)

    • Lou says :

      Yay, excited you tried the recipe! Yeah, soft bread is the best so you can moosh it up nice and tight. I can’t leave the house without a stash of rusks these days, Sid is crazy for them, they seem to keep him occupied during our missions :)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Misty Man’s grown up snacks « fridge scrapings - November 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

